First — An Introduction

Meet me and my hubby, Dave

Kim Smyth
Boomerangs
4 min readJul 30, 2021

--

Dave and I on our back patio- photo is my own

Hi, all you readers of Boomerangs!

I just wanted to say thanks to Liz Porter for the invite and introduce myself and my hubby, David. We have been married since 1985, so 36 years!

We have two grown boys, Joshua and Christopher (Josh and Chris), and I have an older boy (Sean) from a previous relationship. I have only been married to David, however, and don’t plan on that ever-changing. We also have three fur babies, Whiskey, Brandy, and Callie- two shorkies and a tuxedo cat that keep life entertaining.

Brandy and Whiskey in our bedroom-Photo is my own

I plan to grow old together and hopefully retire to the ocean of our choice or, second best, a lake house somewhere in east Texas (or wherever). We have been looking for a lake house or a piece of property within our budget to be happy and build a house.

Dave and I got married about three months after we met; our story is kind of unique. I served 4 1/2 years in the Army and worked at a local hospital when we met. He’d recently finished his Marine duty and was freshly divorced from his high school sweetheart.

We met in an unlikely place, a bar known to others as a “meat market,” and neither of us had ever been there. I didn’t want to go out that night, but my friend insisted. Dave did not want to go out that night either, but his friend also insisted; therefore, I figure our meeting was fate.

As I sat at the table with L, Dave and D walked in, and our eyes just locked on each other. Soon, they were making their way to our table to ask us to dance. I have to be honest here and say that I was staring initially because Dave looked eerily similar to someone in my past.

As he got closer, I realized that (thankfully) it wasn’t him.

Anyhoo, I remember the song we danced to was Unchained Melody by the Righteous Brothers. After that, we made small talk, and as he talked about his business, I asked him if he had a card. He said yes, that it was in his truck and that I should come outside with him.

I jumped at the chance to show off my car as well, so we went outside.

After retrieving his card and showing me his truck, we went over to my car, a black Mercury Capris with a red racing stripe (I was so proud of that car!), and he literally picked me up and leaned back against the car and asked,

“Are you done with playing games?” I knew exactly what he meant, and I replied, “Yes.”

I didn’t have the best track record with men, and whether I said that or he sensed it, I don’t know. But he kissed me, we left the club, went to my apartment, listened to music and got to know each other a bit better.

We were married three months later.

His parents were not too sure about me after such a short relationship, but they always treated me kindly. Well, Dave’s dad had something to say once, but Dave had words with him in the garage, and he was nice after that. My mother, on the other hand, knew right away that Dave was not only serious, but she better stay on his good side and vice versa.

It wasn’t always perfect, our relationships with our parents, but we made it work, and every other hurdle we’ve had to jump as well. We’re a great team, we’re best friends, and we’re soulmates. I love him unconditionally, and he loves me the same way. He would die for me, I’m sure.

Speaking of dying, that was our first major argument.

Early in our marriage, some salesperson from some funeral planning service came to the door one day and wanted to sell us a burial plot. I told him I wanted to be buried in Mississippi (my birthplace), and he said no, you will be buried here in Texas next to me. So we have since decided to be cremated. We joke about that all the time now.

I hope you have enjoyed this not-so-brief little intro into our lives; there is more to tell, as well as other tales I have inside just waiting for a place to live.

I hope I’ve come to the right place!

--

--

Kim Smyth
Boomerangs

Freelance writer/blogger, editor-creator of Twisted Trunk Travels-my new travel blog.