Forget 100

Wondering what happens when I hit 200 followers

John Lewis
Boomerangs

--

Could this be me? Photo by Ralph (Ravi) Kayden on Unsplash

It wasn’t that long ago that I was among the writers that had less than 100 followers on Medium. This didn’t really bug me, until all the hoopla came up about the platform and ‘needing’ a minimum of 100 plus followers here in order to continue in the Partner program. There were visions of them offering me a blindfold and cigarette at dawn as I stood to attention in front of a line of editors, being asked for “any LAST words?” if that 100 wasn’t reached.

It seems it will never come to that, though.

Now, I don’t know what it means if you are dropped from the MPP (as it’s affectionally known), so I just soldiered on putting words together and seeing if folks liked how I did it.

My writing started to take off, and the followers, well — followed. More and more as time passes, bringing up an inevitable question: what happens when the number passes 200?

After all, if 100 was a number with significant magical properties and you keep going, what do you get when you DOUBLE that?

A list of possibilities springs to mind.

  • A Unicorn of exceptional beauty and power farting rainbows at your enemies on command.
  • Your own political party composed solely of your followers that sweeps you…

--

--

John Lewis
Boomerangs

John Lewis was born in Europe, and came by both wanderlust and curiosity from that beginning. He considers this his Third Act in Life.