I Don’t Always See My Kids on Christmas Day

But when I do see them, it’s LIKE Christmas

Suzanne Pisano
Boomerangs
3 min readDec 8, 2021

--

My kids and I a few Christmases ago. Image Courtesy of the Author.

As a mom of two young adults who haven’t lived at home since college, I’ve gotten used to not always seeing them on Christmas Day.

I’m sure many of you can relate. Not only do they live on their own, but they’re in different states, and one is in a different time zone. My daughter is in Oregon, and my son is in Boston. I’m in New Jersey. At least I’ve got one within striking distance.

The Boston-to-New-Jersey run takes the same amount of time whether you fly or drive — about 5 hours. By the time you hoof it to the airport, slog through security, wait, wait some more, jockey for boarding position, wrestle your luggage into the overhead compartments, etc., you could have just hopped in your car, listened to a few tunes, called a few friends and before you know it, you’re there. Hence, I prefer to drive. My son doesn’t have a car in the city, so he flies home.

Of course, holiday travel is always more expensive and more of a hassle than other times of the year, and they often beg off for those reasons. I’m OK with that. They also have jobs and responsibilities that don’t always allow extended time off around the holidays. I get it. And I don’t pressure them.

Because I know that when I do see them, no matter what time of year it is, I will feel like the proverbial kid on Christmas morning, unwrapping the gift of their presence.

We’re not a church-going family, but we celebrate the spirit of the season. In my mind and heart, that spirit is not exclusive to December 25. Don’t get me wrong; it’s wonderful to have both kids under my roof on a Christmas Eve night. While I’m no longer up till 3:00 AM secretly wrapping gifts and watching George C. Scott’s version of A Christmas Carol, there’s still a hint of magic in the air. But as long as they’re happy and healthy, my Christmas wish list is fulfilled, no matter where they are.

This year I’ll get to see one of them — my son will be home for a few days before and after Christmas. He’ll get to make the rounds of family gatherings, soaking up the adoration of his aunts, uncles and younger cousins and entertaining us all with his clever, dry wit. I’ll get to make him breakfast and enjoy his company the rest of the time. We’ll go out to dinner, split a bottle of wine (or two), watch a movie, and talk music, politics and family news.

My daughter will spend the holiday with good friends. That brings me comfort and joy, though I’ll still miss her terribly. The day won’t be the same without her warmth and sparkle.

But my son and I will fly out west for a visit this winter. We’ll all ski together, hit a craft brewery or two, and chill après ski by a roaring fire. For me, that will be the equivalent of a five-year-old’s wide-eyed Christmas morning…times 2.

Merry Christmas to all who celebrate, and I hope you spend the day with loved ones…either in person or in spirit!

--

--

Suzanne Pisano
Boomerangs

Writer. Singer. Jersey girl. Personal essays and poetry. Humor when the mood strikes. Editor for The Memoirist and Age of Empathy.