Jersey Shore Moon at Sunset

And what we can learn from simple moments in our lives

John McGinniss
Boomerangs

--

Moonrise over the Jersey Shore October 2021. Photo by author.

I love taking my nightly walk along the beach in New Jersey. I am currently renting my friend’s cottage for the winter, and it’s too damn cute. I am loving every minute of it! It’s a tiny white, 1930’s era cottage. Essentially a studio. I’m about 5’ 11”, and taking a shower looks like the shower scene in ELF with Will Ferrell. I swear in the tree next to the cottage, there are elves baking chocolate chip cookies …

Strolling the beach every night (and sometimes in the morning, too) clears my head. Inhaling the saltwater-filled air and enjoying that breeze coming off the ocean says to me summer is over, and fall is just around the corner.

On this night, I took my quick drive to the beach and parked in my usual spot. This is next to the lifeguard/ticket/office building at the end of Main Street, which leads to the beach. It is a short walk up the cement ramp to the blacktop boardwalk, where I typically turn to my left and walk to the North part of the boardwalk first.

I immediately pass the pizza stand, game arcade, and taco place shuttered for the winter. I then walked to the end of the boardwalk, where the children’s swings and slides were now quiet in the sand.

--

--

John McGinniss
Boomerangs

Passionate about helping others with personal finance. Writing about my observations of life and creating new experiences. Walking the Jersey shore at night.