The Incredible Life of an Ordinary Person

What does your life say about you?

Jill (Conquering Cognitions)
Boomerangs

--

A toddler wrapped in white holiday lights with a suprised look on his face.
Image by Jere Cang from Pixabay

My friends are crazy over-achievers. One recently hiked the 2,000+ mile Appalachian Trail, from Georgia to Mt. Katahdin in Maine. It was a trip that he carefully planned for over a year to mark his transition from military soldier to civilian life — a grueling trek and an impressive accomplishment.

Another friend competed on Jeopardy last week. I watched the show and could only correctly answer two questions fast enough to beat the other contestants. My friend, on the other hand, did much better and finished in second place with over $10,000.

I’m friends with a published author who recently had their series purchased by Netflix and a close colleague who won a prestigious research award. I’m surrounded by people doing amazing things and I started questioning what I was contributing to this group.

I haven’t completed an epic physical challenge or created something worthy enough to be broadcast on TV. I have never won a game of Trivial Pursuit or a Kahoot! contest, so Jeopardy is out of the question. I just stepped off my career path seeking a different one, and I’m starting on the ground floor in a pair of old flip-flops. I am a fairly ordinary person.

--

--

Jill (Conquering Cognitions)
Boomerangs

PsyD, Clinical Psychologist | Writer | Words in Human Parts, Forge, Better Humans | Life Lessons Supported by Science