What Kind of Old Man Do You Want to Be?

Grumpy, dirty, crazy, loveable, or wise — the choice is yours

John Egelkrout
Boomerangs

--

Photo by Matteo Vistocco on Unsplash

I’m 63. I’m not old yet, but I am well on my way. As I look down that path leading into the future, I know it is only a matter of time before I am “officially” old. It’s coming. It’s inevitable. Or at least I hope it is.

There is no clear line when a person is old either. It’s a blurry line, something we grow into as we age. Then suddenly, before we realize it, one day we are there. We look into the mirror and realize we are old, and we never knew when we actually crossed that line.

Student: Mr. E? How old are you?

Me: Take a guess.

Student: Oh, I don’t know. Maybe 49?

Me: You’re really good at this.

When I ponder the years ahead and how I will spend my time, I have come to the conclusion that I have some decisions to make. I need to decide when I am going to be done teaching (trust me, I am closer than I have ever been), how I want to spend the extra time I will have when I am not working full time, and what kinds of hobbies and other interests I will pursue. The most important decision, however, is what kind of old man I want to be.

--

--

John Egelkrout
Boomerangs

I am a sanity-curious former teacher who works a small organic farm with my wife. I write about politics, social issues, memoirs, and a variety of other topics.