Celebrating Joy in the Everyday

And making time to acknowledge it.

Sam Finlayson
Boomers, Bitches, and Babes

--

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

I have just read a lovely article from Courtney Capone called Finding Joy In Small Things. In it she speaks about the little joys in her life and also something which resonated with me.

“I write a lot about my trauma and very little about my joy.”

I also focus on the trauma of my life. I did spend a good few years ignoring it so swings and roundabouts. This lovely article made me think about the things that brought me joy.

Here are my offerings:

  1. Snow falling. I love Winter. I think this is because my birthday is in November.
  2. Babies laughing. What a pure and beautiful sound.
  3. Laughing so much you snort. I have a real love for silly comedy and once I find something really funny I laugh for a long time. Crying and snorting like a demented donkey.
  4. Having silly conversations with my girls.
  5. Blasting music, dancing and singing along. I love singing (which I am not bad at). I do have two left feet so less dancing more trying not to fall.
  6. That hour I have to myself first thing in the morning. Just me and my coffee. I have very little time in my day where I am not needed for something. Demanding work (which I love)…

--

--

Sam Finlayson
Boomers, Bitches, and Babes

Love 📚 New to writing but loving every minute. Write about my experiences with therapy, trauma and recovery as well as other things that cross my mind 😉