Read the End First

Why do some avid readers read the end first?

Linda Wright
Boomers, Bitches, and Babes

--

“Blessed is the one who reads the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near.” Revelation 1:3

poster from Crosswalks.com stating “God has done great things for us and we are filled with joy.” Psalm 126:3

I do not understand

I was talking to my sister’s daughter-in-law, Cris, about something that I just do not understand that my sister was in the habit of doing. My sister was an avid reader. She loved to read and always had a book with her.

But what I do not understand that she did, was she always read the ending of a fictional book first, then she would go back and start at the beginning.

That baffled my mind. I start at the beginning of a book, and am delighted with the ending when I get to it or change it in my mind to suit me!

Since fictional books are written by an author with an imagination, I use my imagination if I think a bookending should be improved.

But the habit of starting by reading a book’s ending first baffled me. Why would she do that? Doesn’t that ruin any surprise endings? Would that not confuse the reader? Why read the book if you already know the ending?

There are very few fictional books where I want to change the ending to suit me better. I usually think…

--

--