Totally Normal Parenting of Gen X Kids

That Would Totally Have CPS At Your Door Today

Misty Rae
Boomers, Bitches, and Babes
6 min readAug 24, 2022

--

Photo by sebastien cordat on Unsplash

It’s another warm day here in Canada’s hinterland, but at least the cloud cover keeps things tolerable. In fact, it’s a perfect day to kick back with a cold bevie and my laptop, to read and write, on my balcony.

I’ve been in a nostalgic mood lately. It happens every year around this time. There’s something about the shift from summer to fall, the subtle change in the sun’s light in the morning, the slight cooling of the air and those first leaves to turn that take me back to my childhood.

My pet name for it is “school air,” and I’ve written about it before. Whatever it is, it just makes me remember the good old days.

But were they really good? Was everything as rosy as I remember it through the lens of a child with no bills, no responsibilities and whose biggest problem in life was figuring out how to get George Michael to marry me, or failing that, Corey Hart?

Sure, the music was better, as were movies and television. Heck, even the commercials were entertaining, but we did some stupid stuff back then.

I have to thank Paul Combs for his story about crazy pop culture urban legends our generation actually believed. Yes, folks, you read it here first, fake news was a thing way…

--

--

Misty Rae
Boomers, Bitches, and Babes

6X Top Writer. Former legal eagle. Wife, mother, nature lover, chef, writer and all-around free spirit . https://ko-fi.com/mistyrae