Wait upon the Lord

Waiting and patience are linked.

Linda Wright
Boomers, Bitches, and Babes

--

“I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope. My soul waits for the Lord.” Psalm 130:6

A woman looking out a window waiting for someone to return.
Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash

This woman I think is patiently waiting. I do not know her or her story but she waits. For a son to come home or a husband to arrive? For a lost dog to return? For friends and relatives to present themselves? I do not know why she is looking out her window. I see in the picture that she almost has a smile on her face as she patiently waits. Maybe she is waiting upon the Lord?

How long will she stand there? If the ones she is waiting for are delayed, does she continue to stand there? Does she get anxious? Does she get angry? Does she go about her daily business still anticipating an arrival? Will she stay patient? How long will she have to wait? Does she lose her temper? I am projecting that she waits patiently with great hope for a good outcome.

Two movies come to mind where characters have to wait short amounts of time, and they do it in song. West Side Story has the two lovers wait until night time to meet, and they sing about the wait. Annie sings about the sun coming out tomorrow in the movie Annie. They only have short times to wait but they do it patiently.

I am in a waiting time right now for two different things to materialize in my future…

--

--