Meet the Team: Sivalee Anantachart

Boomstarter Network
Boomstarter Network
4 min readAug 28, 2018

Please tell us a bit about your background in the crypto and blockchain space.

We’ve hosted Geeks on the Plane when they were in Bkk, and I met some Bitcoin Enthusiasts back then and got tweeted some Bitcoin, so that was my intro to Crypto a few years back. I’ve always been interested in tech and innovation and crypto and blockchain seems to capture my attention from the early days. One of the many things I do is that I advise companies on Business development and localization, and one of the business that I was advising was planning to do an ICO last year and that’s how I got involved more and more into Crypto and Blockchain. I got interested in the use case scenario as well as the whole fundraising part and the community that’s involved.

In fact, I’m fascinated by the whole ecosystem and how it can disrupt our financial industry among another things. And last year, we also hosted the first Womenwill talk (with Boomstarter CEO Mariya Dokshina) Crypto event which got a lot of attention. I would like to see gender diversity in Blockchain so I do what I can to bring more women into the Blockchain Space. I’m now running Womenwill talk Blockchain Series in Bangkok to help educate and bridge the gap and help to make it easier for beginners to learn more about Blockchain and everyone is welcome. )

How did you met Mariya and the rest of the team?

I was actually visiting Moscow at the time. It was a holiday but I got a message from Paddy. I think Paddy tagged Mariya or I got a message from Paddy about meeting Mariya and Boomstarter and Storiqa since they have just raised 25million through their ICO at the time.

Boomstarter team with advisors Sivalee and Paddy.

As I love to visit tech offices and meet the Founding team, when I got the msg from Paddy I decided to arrange a visit to see their office and to meet the team. The rest is history. I was so excited to meet the team and to see the office. Everyone is so nice and I love what they are working on. (I have many friends in San Francisco and Silicon Valley and I love to visit their space. So having a change to visit Boomstarter was definitely a yes for ME! ) I was very impressed with the team and their hospitality and we kept in touch.
When we Met, Mariya introduced me to the team and gave me a tour! And we talked about the different projects that are on Boomstarter and how it is the first Crowdfunding platform in the Eastern Europe, and what’s to come.

What do you think about the prospects for ICOs in general? In your opinion, what are the advantages of this type of funding?

It’s a great alternative for raising funds but with so many scams and the way the ICO is managed, it’s in a bit of a tricky situation right now. And with the new rules and regulations, businesses and startups will need to be on top of things and to have a team that understand the mechanics both from the security perspective to law and compliance to community building as well as how to manage the fund once received. There’re a lot of parties involved in the ICO process and these must be managed in a professional manner. Having a half done white paper just doesn’t do it anymore. Investors are now looking for a solid projects to invest in and with so many scams and the fluctuation of the crypto, it’s getting harder and harder to do a successful ICO.

What inspires you about crowdfunding?

The Community part of it! As a community builder, I love seeing people coming together to support a business or to support a cause. It’s reaching out to way more people and you will also have their support. Trying to raise fund can be difficult and crowdfunding makes it easier for people to create projects and facilitate funding. And you can also learn and be inspired by other people and their projects and that’s the beauty of it.

What inspires you about Boomstarter.network?

The fact that it’s the first crowdfunding platform in Eastern Europe is very impressive and now that Boomstarter is launching the first global blockchain-based crowdfunding platform with crowd-mining technology, the possibilities are endless and I’m thrilled to be a part of this fascinating journey.

--

--