2021 How far have you come?

Robert Haylor
Boost Your Digital Media
2 min readDec 15, 2021

A lot of us, myself included, get so fixated on focusing on going further forward, pushing harder, grinding and not taking our foot of the gas that we forget to pause.

I’ve recently come back from Torquay and on one early morning in 2018 I had reached the bottom, I was ready to quit. By quit I mean throw myself in the sea. This got me thinking about just how far I have come since that day and even further back.

As I began to drive back to the West Midlands I could visualise where I’ve lived, the walking to and from school, the bus rides to school. Events both happy and traumatic, my first job, my second job, my first business failure, my first serious relationship, the birth of my son and all the trials, tribulations and fun that followed.

I remembered how hard my mother worked to support her 2 children on very little money. Sometimes working herself up until 8pm most nights to put a bit of extra food on the table.

Its surprising what a family can go through, survive and come out the other side stronger, resilient and stable as a result.

It also got me thinking as to my own levels of success. I’ve not always played to my fullest potential choosing instead the easy road. The difficulty starts when you accept that life is what you make it and whilst you want the easy road it will never lead to a positive and prosperous future.

So if you’re struggling to comprehend where you are now, try this exercise. Ask yourself “how far have I come?” If you don’t like the answer my advice is don’t give up but go the extra mile and I can assure you success will follow you.

I hope you found this article useful

Robert Haylor

--

--

Robert Haylor
Boost Your Digital Media

Website agency founder & fitness nutter. Dad to one 👨‍👦. Saving for a house 🏠. Engaged to be married 👰‍♀️. Studying money 💷.