Cars and E-commerce

Robert Haylor
Boost Your Digital Media
3 min readOct 3, 2021

Cars have never been a major interest of mine, seriously, I couldn’t tell you the difference between a Ford Focus and a Smart Car, apart from the obvious traits, size and colour.

When it comes to the details, you know engine size, 0–60 in 2.4 seconds you’d be better of asking my older brother for information, honestly I don’t know a darn thing about them.

Recently, the vehicle that I used to drive had a few issues resulting in me now having to look for a new set of wheels. So like most car seekers, that have no idea about cars, I logged onto Google and typed in Cars for sale.

What greeted me was millions, yes millions of results for websites offering cars for sale. Gone are the days of riding down your local street and buying a car off the neighbour today you can click and collect, have it delivered, arrange a booking, look at finance options and more.

I mean I knew e-commerce had helped move industries along but I think within the used and new car business it has really shifted boundaries.

So I thought I’d put together a few websites that I’ve been using to find a car to purchase, oh and by the way if you have any recommendations for a vehicle pop those in the comments below.

Motors.co.uk

Seriously this place has become my new second home, every morning I log on type in my requirements, automatic, ford, my budget and so many miles within my local area followed by hitting search.

Yes it pulls up an entire load of cars that maybe of interest to me, a really useful website for finding both local and national vehicles for sale from both dealers and of course your local neighbour.

Have a visit yourself at motors.co.uk

Cazoo

I’ve had a quick look at Cazoo, and I’ve been impressed with what I’ve seen. I like the home delivery option as well as being able to apply for finances from a single site.

Equally, and this is a major plus for me being able to visit their car centres or call someone to talk through my options is another big plus. After all cars are not my area of expertise.

Also its interesting that these guys have only recently started appearing on TV as the place to go for your next car.

Auto Trader

Ah now come on, you didn’t think I’d miss this beauty out, did you?

Who remembers the magazine, you know the Auto Trader mag that used to be outside every supermarket, and by every I literally mean every supermarket. Crammed with cars for sale from Mr and Mrs Smith today it is a hybrid of both private sellers and dealers.

Auto Trader of course has its long history within the car world, but for me I’m an automatic driver and for some reason I can’t quite find the automatic transmission option.

E-commerce has quite literally changed how we buy our cars today.

From click and collect to home delivery, you can literally secure any product, any size and anywhere in the world.

When you’re shopping for a brand new car, where do you go?

--

--

Robert Haylor
Boost Your Digital Media

Website agency founder & fitness nutter. Dad to one 👨‍👦. Saving for a house 🏠. Engaged to be married 👰‍♀️. Studying money 💷.