Invest in you, stop buying crap

Robert Haylor
Boost Your Digital Media
2 min readDec 16, 2021

A woman recently told me “that I am nothing and will amount to nothing”.

Fundamentally that person was right, for the better part of 10 years I had spent my life doing nothing. Drifting from one business failure to the next, eating what I wanted and having no control or discipline over my life or indeed the destination.

That was kind of where I was in 2008 after leaving university. I expected other people to invest in me, see the potential in me, I expected others to provide for me and worse I actually believed I was entitled to it. When it came to improving myself, my way of life or even keeping the weight down I really couldn’t of given a toss.

Yet there was something missing, there was something missing for a further 10 years. What was missing was belief. Not belief in other people or a belief in a cause but a belief in myself.

Then one morning in 2018 something happened, I had a bit of a wake-up call. I suddenly realised that if I don’t start investing or working on myself then this was going to be my life for the next 10 years. So I started physically training, watching my food intake and cutting down more and more on the naughty food.

Every morning I start the morning with a shower and a shave. During the time I shave I look at myself long and hard and ask myself “what have you done that has benefitted you?” If I can’t mention anything then I ensure I do something that day that does benefit me.

I’ve recently started applying this mentality to other areas of my life including financial and business. What have I done today that will benefit me financially? What have I done today that will benefit the business?

It’s surprising what these simple questions can do.

I hope this helps someone.

Robert Haylor

--

--

Robert Haylor
Boost Your Digital Media

Website agency founder & fitness nutter. Dad to one 👨‍👦. Saving for a house 🏠. Engaged to be married 👰‍♀️. Studying money 💷.