Daddy’s Girl

Wild Card — Interview with my daddy

Sawyer Wilson
Born and Raised Southern
5 min readDec 8, 2015

--

“Most people wait their whole life to meet their hero — mine raised me”

Mike Wilson is many things, he is a son, husband, friend, uncle, investigator, hunter, police officer, but the most important title he holds in my life is father. Although I look and act just like my mama, I have always been a daddy’s girl. I wanted to do my wild card on my daddy so that I could compare and show how both sides of my family are from the South and how much that has been truly influential to my life.

Me: Where did you grow up?

Daddy: I was born in Roanoke, AL and lived there until I was 12. At age 12, I moved to Carrollton, GA with my mama and my brother. My parents split up when I was little so I was raised by my mama and stepdad.

Showing the distance between Roanoke, AL and Carrollton, GA

Me: Where did you spend your summers and with who?

Daddy: My summers were spent at Lake Martin and at my grandparents, my dad’s parents.

Me: What types of things did you do with your grandparents?

Daddy: My grandparents taught me to do many things when I was younger. They taught me how to farm and take care of the animals on the farm. I was in charge of feeding all of the animals, collecting the eggs that the chickens had laid as well as doing all of the scut work like cleaning stables. They also taught me everything I know about fishing. My grandfather and I would sit at the lake and fish from sun up to sun down. I had every kind of bait and tackle needed to catch fish. My grandmother would also spend time with me teaching me how to garden. She had her own garden in the back of the house where she would grow all of her own vegetables and things to use in the kitchen. I loved sitting out there with her and learning all of the secrets she had to keeping plants alive.

Me: What are some of your favorite memories from this time?

A map image of Lake Martin

Daddy: Camping at Lake Martin and Fishing with my grandfather. Sometimes my little brother, Matt, would go with us. Being the oldest I loved to show out and make sure he knew that I was the oldest and I was better at everything. So I used to challenge him to things when we would fish. One time I told him that whoever caught the most and biggest fish, the other had to do his chores for the next week. Well obviously I won the challenge and Matt had to do my chores for the week. So the next time we were fishing I made the same bet with him. And once again he lost and had to my chore. After about three weeks of doing my chore he stopped making bets with me and sometimes he wouldn’t even go fishing with us at all.

Me: How do you think this time with your grandparents shaped who you are as a person today?

Daddy: Spending time with my grandparents was good for me because I learned their beliefs and values. They believed in working hard and doing the right thing. They taught me that working hard was the way to achieve the things you want. Those are beliefs and values that I have carried with me through life to this day and values that I have tried hard to instill in you. I knew that I wanted to carry out the values and beliefs that my grandparents taught me and to be sure that I achieved everything I wanted by doing so.

Me: Do you think growing up in the South is a part of who you are as a person today?

Daddy: I do think that the South is a part of who I am today because of my beliefs, values and Southern way of living.

Me: How different do you think your life would be if you had grown up anywhere other than the South?

Daddy: I really don’t know how it would be. I’ve been in the South my entire life. I have traveled to other places and have not been very impressed by the way other people do things. I think the South holds a sense of family and a certain lifestyle that fits who I am and who we are as a family and who our family was before us. I think what makes our family so strong and special is that we are southern.

Me: Were you raised in an area that faced segregation?

Daddy: I was not raised during segregation but when I was a young boy, living in Roanoke, AL, there was a National Guard Armory building that still had black and white bathrooms. Though the rule wasn’t enforced anymore they were still there. One day when I was younger we passed by the building and saw them and I asked my grandfather why there were two separate bathrooms. He explained to me that years ago there was a time when black people and white people weren’t allowed to have the same things or share the same facilities. I remember having a look on my face of pure confusion because I went to school with black people and I never really knew any different. I was so baffled by the fact that there was once a time when things were so different.

Me: Who was the most influential person in your life growing up?

Daddy: My mom, hands down. I never went a single day without talking to my mom. She was the sweetest, most caring, loving, Godly woman I ever knew. She inspired me to be the absolute best in every aspect of my life, whether it be my work or at home with my family. She was an amazing woman and she loved her family more than anything in the world.

Me: What are some of your favorite things about being raised and living in the South?

Daddy: Hunting, Fishing, Southern Traditions, Southern Cooking and Georgia Bulldogs Football.

Me: Thank you for telling me about your childhood and helping me connect all of my southern family together. This is exactly what I needed for my project.

--

--