5 reasons to use a to-do list

Erwan 🌸
Borombo
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2018
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Here’s a post as everybody likes them : A currated list of point.
I think that if you already using a to-do list you already know the benefits, but here I will give you my list of the 5 main benefits I noticed from my own usage. I hope it will convince the ones who don’t use some already !

1- Prioritise

Obviously, if you do a list of what you have to do, you can more easily prioritise them. You know what you have to do first so you can make some sublist by priority “ Must, should, could “ In this way, you always do first what’s the most important and urgent.

2- Organised

Having a to-do list keep you organised. As the first point you know what you have to do and that’s the main point. Before I use them, I could easly ask myself what I will have to do next, for which project, in which order… Having a to-do list easly organised can keep your whole work and workflow organised.

3- Sort

In the following of the previous point, your to do list can keep you organised if you make it well. For myself, I sort my task by priority but also by categories/projects. For example I’ve a special color code for my task related to blog post on Medium. In this way, I can easly get which project have the most task to be done in my priority list.

4- Track

Using a to-do list is simple, you have your tasks and you complete them. You can use that to track yourself, check how many tasks you finished in an hour or in the day/week. Depending on the level of the task, you can know if you were more productive or not than the previous same period etc…

5- Motivate

Still following the previous point, by tracking yourself, you will also motivate you. You will se, task by task your progress and it will keep you more motivated than if you do it but have nothing to see all the things you had to do at the beginning. Also you can motivate yourself to always do more than the preious time or some challenges like this. Some to-do list app can also give you some reward when you reach your daily or weekly goals, it can also be a source of motivation.

That’s the 5 main positive points I’ve noticied by using a to-do list daily to handle the tasks I have to do. I mainly use Todoist which allows me to easily tdo all the point I’ve talked about. You can find some good apps that fits to you, or use your own system with a simple note app or with a book !

Thank you for reading. If you liked it, don’t hesitate to follow me or to leave some claps or comments to let me know your opinion. Sharing is also allowed and free !

Follow my journey on Instagram, Twitter or Facebook

--

--

Erwan 🌸
Borombo
Editor for

🇫🇷 Mobile app creator based in 🇪🇸 | Travel enthusiast 🌍 | Building things 🪄 | Let's connect 🕺🏾 Insta/Twitter: _borombo 🌸