A KANSAN’S GUIDE TO BOSTON (SO FAR)

JVZZI
4 min readMar 8, 2014

1. IT WILL SNOW EVERY WEEK.

I actually do not remember a week in Boston, that I have not been met with Snow. It snows so often, I wonder if the arctic region is jealous of Jack Frost adoration for the colonial States. As a kid, I would have loved it here. Endless snow days, snow men, and snow fights. Now even the hint of snow, and I’m stock up on groceries and shutting the blinds, like I’m awaiting a cold war missile attack.

2. ARRIVE 5-10 MINUTES EARLY, BUSES ARE UNPREDICTABLE.

Before leaving for the bus, I check the MBTA app. It first began with giving myself a 3 minute cushion, to assure my wait is short and sweet. After watching the bus fly past enough time, ahead of schedule, and being forced to wait 10 — 20 minutes for the next bus, I have made the executive decision to leave earlier, and actually force myself to wait. It has paid off, greatly.

3. TAXIS ARE 1 MILLION DOLLARS A TRIP.

Unless you like digging into your savings just to pay for a taxi ride less than two miles away, I suggest using Taxis for the dyer situations, like when the buses and trains are not running, and you need to get to the airport for a 6:30a check-in.

4. LAST CALL IS 1:15A, AND HAPPY HOUR IS ILLEGAL.

When you think of Boston, you think of drinking, beer, and more drinking. My have my views changed. Yes, there is drinking. Yes, there is a lot of beer, even a brewery here. If you are expected cheap drinks, and a long night of drinking, I suggest throwing a house party. The simple luxury I took advantage of living in Kansas City, and LA, hell, even Wichita, KS has a better drinking culture, in my opinion.

5. THE TRAIN IS FUN AND SAFE, IN COMPARISON TO LA.

I love the train. It’s quick, its convenient, and the people are clothed. If any you have experience the LA subway system, you understand how nice it can be to share a train ride with individuals who are not barefoot, drench in the smell of urine, and yelling about the coming of the messiah. Thank You Boston.

6. BEING NICE GETS YOU NO WHERE.

It’s not that people are mean in Boston, they just don’t have the southern values I was raised by, you know southern comfort. Its safe to say, these people, are immune to a smile and ‘Hi, How are you?’

7. DON’T TALK TO STRANGERS.

Piggy backing off my last statement, people are not accustom to cheerful gestures, so be vary wary of those who are overly inviting. I once spent an afternoon dodging an older gentleman looking to make an ‘arrangement’ with me. Not that I am opposed to free meals, and getting to know someone new, but anything that borders the line of prostitution is not necessarily something I am looking to pursue.

8. DOMINICANS DO IT BETTER (HAIRCUTS).

15 bucks is money well spent for a haircut and eyebrow arch. I have never looked better, or felt better. I walk in looking like teen wolf, come out Ryan Gossling. It is amazing what I our Caribbean brothers can do. It may take them 2 hours are to finish, but you will not regret the time spent or the experience of being in the shop. I can never go back now (unless it’s JR from back home)

9. FRESH CLAM CHOWDER IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN WHAT IS IN A CAN.

Legal Seafood has great Clam Chowder for the Low — Low. Need a quick snack or something to warm you up, buy it and love it, and buy it again.

10. THE PATS ARE THE BEST GOSH-DARN TEAM EVER.

If you’re not already a Chief’s fan. Everyone loves the Pats, and in denial about the cheat scandal. Never forget.

11. WHITE PEOPLE LOVE GETTING NAKED IN THE WINTER.

from the naked santa run, to the pants less train rides, I have never seen so many people eager to take off their clothes when its below freezing, and mostly likely snowing.

12. SPACE HEATERS ARE THE BEST INVESTMENTS.

Lastly, buy a space heater and thank me later.

To sum up: I like Boston. It has been an interesting experience. I have had the best irish coffee, the best dessert, and fell in love with the tradition New England architecture. I look forward to exploring the city more, and finding where I belong in this city. The opportunities here are in abundance. And who can’t appreciate MIT and Harvard being in your backyard, at least the nerd in me is geeked. Now if only the temperature could get above 50 degrees.

--

--

JVZZI

Curator In Chief, Brave New Urban • Designer/Illustrator • Jeezy Is My Life Coach • Read More —http://BraveNewUrban.com