Why We Started ‘Boston Speaks Up’

Zach Servideo
Boston Speaks Up
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2018

Hi, I’m Zach Servideo, founder and curator of vibes at Value Creation Labs, a new age consortium at the intersection of media, entertainment, technology and culture. Our goal is to champion the disruptors, innovators, leaders and artists across business, culture, civics and the arts.

In 2018, I made the move back to Boston after 5+ years in Los Angeles with my wife Elizabeth, our daughter Mila and our dog Lucky. After advising dozens of ‘Silicon Beach’ startups, honing my consulting abilities and building out my bicoastal network, I’m excited to return to Boston where my wife and I were born and raised.

I’ve been molded by hard-working people from Boston. Whether it be my dad driving a UPS truck for nearly 40 years, my mother starting her own businesses while raising three kids, my buddies who made music and art their professions, or my engineering friend dedicating his life to renewable energy, I feel an incredible sense of gratitude to the countless Bostonians who’ve inspired me through their hard work, artistry, innovation and general determination to succeed.

And that’s why I started Boston Speaks Up.

Individual people and the relationships they forge define Boston’s culture. Not the sports teams. Not the accent.

We want to shed a light on the voices of inspiration in our lives, and all the voices of inspiration in Boston who too often go unnoticed.

The plan is to conduct brief written interviews with Bostonians in a Q&A format requiring only one-word answers. Our intentions are twofold:

  1. Each one-word answer Q&A serves up a quick, snackable dose of enjoyment and helps bring Bostonians closer together.
  2. The Q&A will serve as a backdrop for a podcast discussion.

In order for this to work, this isn’t a media venture that we or any specific group controls. And that’s why we’ll be asking our friends — new and old — to participate not only as interviewees, but also as guest hosts from time to time.

If you have a story to share, or someone you’d like to suggest for Boston Speaks Up, please email us at BostonSpeaksUp@gmail.com. You can also follow us on Twitter @BostonSpeaksUp.

--

--

Zach Servideo
Boston Speaks Up

Husband+dad. Heart driven leader. Gratefully collaborating with an ever expanding network of bad asses. Creator and host of Boston Speaks Up podcast.