250 ChatGPT Prompts For Google Sheets

Josh Barkin
Botsheets
Published in
15 min readNov 17, 2023

--

ChatGPT has changed the way businesses can interact with their data, and spreadsheets are ubiquitous with managing data.

One of the primary advantages of using ChatGPT for Google Sheets is its ability to output complex Google Sheet formulas based on a simple text prompt. ChatGPT not only provides a comprehensive explanation of the formula but also offers practical examples of its application in various contexts.

Launch a custom GPT chatbot in 5 minutes that will engage with your audience and generate a spreadsheet Learn More >>

Here are 250 useful ChatGPT prompts to help you use Google Sheets.
Want the PDF version of this? It’s available here.

Google Sheets Basics

  1. How do I create a new sheet in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I rename a sheet in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I delete a sheet in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I change the color of a sheet tab in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I insert a new row or column in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I delete a row or column in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I resize a row or column in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I freeze rows or columns in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I sort data in a sheet in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I filter data in a sheet in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Formatting

  1. How do I change the font size, color, and style in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I align text in cells in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I apply a border and fill color to cells in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I merge cells in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I wrap text in cells in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I add a background image to a sheet in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I change the default currency symbol in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I apply conditional formatting to cells in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I create a drop-down list in a cell in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I add a chart or graph to a sheet in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Functions

  1. How do I use the SUM function in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I use the COUNT function in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I use the AVERAGE function in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I use the MAX and MIN functions in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I use the CONCATENATE function in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I use the IF function in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I use the VLOOKUP function in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I use the INDEX and MATCH functions in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I use the QUERY function in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I use the IMPORT functions in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Data Validation

  1. How do I set data validation for cells in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I create a custom formula for data validation in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I create a drop-down list for data validation in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I create a date or time validation for cells in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I create a whole number or decimal validation for cells in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I create a length or text validation for cells in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I create a custom data validation rule in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I clear data validation for cells in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I create a warning message for invalid data in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I create an input message for data validation in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Formulas

  1. How do I use the SUMIF function in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I use the COUNTIF function in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I use the SUMIFS and COUNTIFS functions in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I use the INDEX and MATCH functions to perform a lookup in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I use the VLOOKUP function to perform a lookup in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I use the HLOOKUP function in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I use the OFFSET function in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I use the CHOOSE function in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I use the IFERROR function in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I use the CONCATENATE function to combine text in Google Sheets?

Want to create custom GPT chatbots that generate leads? Launch a custom GPT chatbot in 5 minutes that will engage with your audience and generate a spreadsheet with actionable lead data. Learn More >>

Google Sheets Charts & Graphs

  1. How do I create a pie chart in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I create a bar chart in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I create a line chart in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I create a scatter chart in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I create an area chart in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I create a stacked chart in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I customize chart elements in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I add data labels to a chart in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I add a trendline to a chart in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I import data from other sources to create a chart in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Pivot Tables

  1. How do I create a pivot table in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I customize pivot table fields in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I filter pivot table data in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I sort pivot table data in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I group pivot table data by date or time in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I create a calculated field in a pivot table in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I create a pivot chart from a pivot table in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I refresh pivot table data in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I create a pivot table from multiple sheets in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I use pivot tables to summarize large data sets in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Macros

  1. How do I record a macro in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I edit a macro in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I run a macro in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I assign a shortcut key to a macro in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I delete a macro in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I use a macro to automate repetitive tasks in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I use a macro to import data from external sources in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I use a macro to export data from Google Sheets to other formats?
  9. How do I use a macro to perform advanced calculations in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I use a macro to format and clean data in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Scripting

  1. How do I create a script in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I edit a script in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I run a script in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I use a script to automate tasks in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I use a script to import data from external sources in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I use a script to export data from Google Sheets to other formats?
  7. How do I use a script to perform advanced calculations in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I use a script to format and clean data in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I use a script to integrate Google Sheets with other Google services?
  10. How do I use a script to send emails from Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Templates

  1. How do I find and use templates in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I create a template in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I share a template in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I use templates to create budget spreadsheets in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I use templates to create invoices and receipts in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I use templates to create calendars and schedules in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I use templates to create task and project management sheets in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I use templates to create inventory and database sheets in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I use templates to create contact lists and mailing sheets in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Collaboration

  1. How do I share a sheet with others in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I set permissions for others on a shared sheet in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I collaborate on a sheet in real time in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I leave comments on a sheet in Google Sheets?
  5. How do I receive notifications for changes on a shared sheet in Google Sheets?
  6. How do I use version history to view and restore previous versions of a sheet in Google Sheets?
  7. How do I use the Suggesting mode to make changes to a shared sheet in Google Sheets?
  8. How do I use the Compare mode to view differences between versions of a shared sheet in Google Sheets?
  9. How do I use the Protect range feature to lock certain cells on a shared sheet in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I use the Data Validation feature to restrict data input on a shared sheet in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Integration

  1. How do I import data from other sources into Google Sheets?
  2. How do I export data from Google Sheets to other formats?
  3. How do I integrate Google Sheets with other Google services?
  4. How do I integrate Google Sheets with other non-Google services?
  5. How do I use Google Sheets as a data source for other applications?
  6. How do I automate data transfer between Google Sheets and other services using scripting?
  7. How do I use Zapier to connect Google Sheets with other services?
  8. How do I use IFTTT to connect Google Sheets with other services?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets API to connect with other services?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets add-ons to extend its functionality?

Google Sheets Security

  1. How secure is Google Sheets?
  2. How do I enable two-factor authentication for my Google Sheets account?
  3. How do I set up a password for a sheet in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I use the Protect sheet feature to lock certain cells or ranges in a sheet?
  5. How do I use the Data Validation feature to restrict data input on a sheet?
  6. How do I use the Conditional formatting feature to highlight sensitive data in a sheet?
  7. How do I use the Find and Replace feature to search for and remove sensitive data in a sheet?
  8. How do I use the Audit log feature to track changes made to a sheet?
  9. How do I use the Access log feature to view who has accessed a sheet?
  10. How to share only one tab in Google Sheets?

Google Sheets Advanced Formulas

  1. How do I use the SUMPRODUCT function in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I use the IF, AND, and OR functions together in Google Sheets?
  3. How do I use the INDEX and MATCH functions to find the value in a specific cell in Google Sheets?
  4. How do I use the text functions in Google Sheets (e.g., UPPER, LOWER, PROPER, CONCATENATE)?
  5. How do I use the date and time functions in Google Sheets (e.g., NOW, TODAY, YEAR, MONTH, DAY)?
  6. How do I use the nested functions in Google Sheets (e.g., IF inside SUM, COUNTIF inside SUMIFS)?
  7. How do I use the lookup functions in Google Sheets (e.g., VLOOKUP, HLOOKUP, INDEX, MATCH)?
  8. How do I use the dynamic reference functions in Google Sheets (e.g., INDIRECT, OFFSET)?
  9. How do I use conditional formatting with custom formulas in Google Sheets?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets Query function to filter and sort data

Google Sheets Advanced Features

  1. How do I create and use named ranges in Google Sheets?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Explore feature to extract insights from data?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to ensure data integrity?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom functions?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets built-in templates to create different types of documents?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets auto-fill feature to populate data quickly?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets IMPORTXML function to import data from the web?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets IMPORTJSON function to import data from the web?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets IMPORTRANGE function to import data from other sheets?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets HYPERLINK function to create links to other sheets or websites?

Google Sheets — Data Management

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets QUERY function to filter and sort data?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets FILTER function to filter data based on criteria?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets SORT function to sort data based on criteria?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets TRANSPOSE function to flip rows and columns in a sheet?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets SPLIT function to split data into different columns?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets JOIN function to combine data from different columns?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets UNIQUE function to remove duplicates from a sheet?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets CONCATENATE function to join data from different cells?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets TRANSLATE function to translate data in a sheet?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets CLEAN function to remove unwanted characters from data in a sheet?

Google Sheets Advanced Charting

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart editor to customize chart elements?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart style options to change the appearance of a chart?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart animation options to make a chart more interactive?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart axis options to customize the x and y axis of a chart?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart gridlines options to add gridlines to a chart?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart legend options to customize the legend of a chart?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart trendline options to add a trendline to a chart?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart error bars options to add error bars to a chart?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart data labels options to add data labels to a chart?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets Chart series options to customize data series in a chart

Google Sheets Advanced Pivot Tables

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table options to customize the pivot table layout?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table filter options to filter data in a pivot table?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table sort options to sort data in a pivot table?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table group options to group data by certain criteria in a pivot table?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table calculation options to perform calculations on data in a pivot table?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table format options to format data in a pivot table?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table conditional formatting options to highlight data in a pivot table?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table chart options to create charts from a pivot table?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table formula options to create custom formulas for a pivot table?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets Pivot table export options to export data from a pivot table to other formats?

Google Sheets Data Visualization

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets heat map feature to visualize data?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets map feature to visualize data?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Gantt chart feature to visualize project timelines?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets waterfall chart feature to visualize data?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets candlestick chart feature to visualize data?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets treemap feature to visualize data?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets gauge feature to visualize data?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Sankey diagram feature to visualize data?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets histogram chart feature to visualize project timelines?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets scatter plot feature to visualize data?

Google Sheets Data Analysis

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets statistical functions to analyze data?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets correlation and regression analysis to analyze data?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets chi-squared test to analyze data?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets hypothesis testing to analyze data?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets t-test to analyze data?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets ANOVA test to analyze data?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets Monte Carlo simulation to analyze data?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets decision tree analysis to analyze data?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets principal component analysis (PCA) to analyze data?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets factor analysis to analyze data?

Google Sheets Advanced Scripting

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom functions?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to automate tasks?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom menus?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom dialogs?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom triggers?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom macros?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom import functions?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom export functions?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom validation functions?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets Script editor to create custom reporting functions?

Google Sheets Advanced Formatting

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets styles feature to format data?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets themes feature to format data?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets custom number formatting feature to format data?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets custom date formatting feature to format data?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets custom time formatting feature to format data?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets custom currency formatting feature to format data?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets custom percentage formatting feature to format data?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets custom text formatting feature to format data?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets custom cell formatting feature to format data?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets custom formula formatting feature to format data?

Google Sheets Data Validation

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to ensure data integrity?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to restrict data input?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to create drop-down lists?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to set data validation rules?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to create custom validation formulas?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to add custom error messages?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to display custom input messages?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to apply validation to multiple cells?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to copy validation rules to other sheets?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets Data validation feature to clear validation rules?

Google Sheets Data Cleaning

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets CLEAN function to remove unwanted characters from data in a sheet?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Find and Replace feature to search for and remove unwanted data in a sheet?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Text to Columns feature to separate data into different columns?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets TRIM function to remove extra spaces from data in a sheet?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets Remove duplicates feature to remove duplicate data in a sheet?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets Flash fill feature to automatically fill data in a sheet?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets TRANSLATE function to translate data in a sheet?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Text functions (e.g., UPPER, LOWER, PROPER, CONCATENATE) to clean and format data in a sheet?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets FILTER function to filter and remove unwanted data?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets REPLACE function to replace specific values in a sheet?

Google Sheets Data Protection

  1. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to protect cells from editing?
  2. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to protect sheets from editing?
  3. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to protect ranges from editing?
  4. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to set password protection for a sheet?
  5. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to set conditional formatting rules for protected cells?
  6. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to allow certain users to edit protected cells?
  7. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to create a warning message for users before editing protected cells?
  8. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to create a custom error message for users who try to edit protected cells?
  9. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to track changes made to protected cells?
  10. How do I use the Google Sheets Data protection feature to revoke access to protected cells?

Want a PDF version of this post?

Download a PDF version of this blog post and get a free PDF with 250 ChatGPT prompts for Google Sheets. It’s available here.

Create Custom GPT Chatbots with Google Sheets?

Want to create custom GPT chatbots that generate leads? Launch a custom GPT chatbot in 5 minutes that will engage with your audience and generate a spreadsheet with actionable lead data. Learn More >>

--

--

Josh Barkin
Botsheets

Building conversational AI platforms since 2016