6 Piping Hot Freelance Jobs That Clients Are Willing To Open Their Wallets For

Sean Meyer
Bottom Line Grind
Published in
6 min readJan 20, 2018

--

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

According to Ramit Sethi, the main reason why 90% of people never start their business is because they don’t think they have a profitable skill.

I guess I understand this dilemma and as I always say, I never would’ve taken the first step if I wasn’t forced to…

But I was, and that’s why I wanted to tell you about 6 incredible skills that seem to ALWAYS be in high demand.

Starting with:

Sales Copywriter

There’s been a huge influx in people wanting to pursue their entrepreneurial dreams over the past few years, and that’s created a high demand for the field of Copywriting.

Now the term “Sales Copywriter” used to make me laugh as I thought all Copywriting was sales oriented, but after I started freelancing and immersed myself with all the job postings out there…

I started to notice how clients would separate Copywriting into 2 different fields:

  1. Sales Copywriting — which refers to Landing Page Copy (that converts), Email Funnels, Sales Pages and sometimes even Ad Copy
  2. Content Copywriting — which refers to things like blog articles, ebook writing, web content, etc.

And don’t get me wrong, clients still pay pretty well for content copywriters as they know this is needed to grow their brand…

But nothing like Sales Copywriters, because clients know that a good copywriter will create them an asset that sells at all times of the day, and who wouldn’t pay well for that?

Where to learn:

I’ve read a lot of books on this category and taken even more courses…

And if there’s one resource I’d recommend to anybody, it’s Call To Action by Ramit Sethi.

BUT, I also realize this course is expensive and you might not want to take it right off the bat, and if that’s the case — I recommend reading Expert Secrets by Russell Brunson (it’s a Copywriting book in disguise).

Facebook Advertiser

If you’ve been on Facebook anytime in the last 3 years I think you understand how many businesses are advertising on here anymore, so it probably comes as no surprise that Facebook Advertisers (or Marketers) are in high demand right now.

Now the funny part about this field is that Facebook Advertising really isn’t that hard to setup, so most businesses will try this out by themselves in the beginning…

But then once they’re not seeing results and realize they’re just throwing money down the drain, then they’re quick to hire…and pay good money if you can get results.

Helpful hint:

Once you get a campaign setup, there’s really not a lot of work involved after that, so monthly management fees are where the true profit comes from.

Where to learn:

The best part about this field is that Facebook teaches you everything you need to know at Facebook.com/blueprint…and it’s free

Landing/Sales Page Designer

Carrying on with the sales theme, landing/sales page designers.

Now I have a biased opinion when it comes to this as I think copy is the most important part (probably because I spent most of my freelance career as a Sales Copywriter)…

But I also realize that design helps, and clients understand this as well.

Now if you like to get advanced you could always jump in and create actual landing pages that clients use on their website (and get paid well for it)…

But at the same time, a lot of clients also like to use certain softwares to do this, and if that’s the case — then even better.

What do I mean?

Well, with softwares like Unbounce, Instapage, or LeadPages…

You really don’t have to be a design expert (or computer whiz) to design landing pages,you just have to have a decent understanding of conversion and understand how all of this works.

Easy enough?

Where to learn:

Well it just got better as in addition to these softwares being extremely easy to use, each of them also offer a free training course as well, found at:

Website Designer

Carrying on with the design theme, website designers.

So with all the powerful opportunities available to us today, it seems like everybody wants to be a digital entrepreneur…

And since every digital entrepreneur needs a website, that means there’s always going to be a crazy amount of work out there for this field.

Hell, I don’t even work in the web design category and I STILL see countless job opportunities come through my feed everyday…

And as somebody who’s helped web development firms with lead generation, I can assure you that clients pay very well for this field too.

Where to learn:

The first thing you want to consider with this field is the platform/software you’ll be using.

Rumors have it that Wordpress runs 30% of the internet, making it the largest platform and one that I honestly think everybody should use…

But it’s also the “hardest” to learn, so that scares away a lot of aspiring developers as well.

Now I say “hardest” as if anything, it just looks scary because it’s really not that hard (I’ve designed one before, and I don’t like code or most techy things)…

So if you want to be an overachiever and learn this, you could easily take a cheap course on Udemy, or learn for free on Youtube.com

Now that’s Wordpress, and again, a platform that I’d highly advise…

But there’s easier platforms out there that clients are willing to pay decent money for as well, including:

  • Squarespace
  • Weebly
  • Wix

These are the types of platforms that are a little more user-friendly and I honestly never thought people would pay freelancers to do this for them…

But then I started working online and noticed that there was still a decent demand for these websites, as a lot of entrepreneurs liked them because they’d be able to maintain it afterward…

Even though they still wanted a freelancer to take care of the initial design.

Like Wordpress, you can learn how to design these sites for very cheap at Udemy.com, or you can learn how to design them for free at YouTube.

Pitch Deck Designer

As somebody who spent years in Commercial Lending, I can assure you that all investors/lenders LOVE a well designed pitch deck/business plan…

And that’s probably why so many entrepreneurs are willing to pay top-dollar for these services.

If you’re not familiar with the term pitch deck, it’s really just an abbreviated powerpoint presentation that new companies use to pitch their idea to potential investors/lenders…

So even though an eye for design is helpful, I think understanding the lending process/what investors are looking for is the most important part.

Where to learn:

Here’s an amazing article that describes everything in perfect detail, found right here on The Startup!

Mobile App Developer

Last but certainly not least, Mobile App Developer.

Now I’ve received plenty of Copywriting requests asking me to write copy for new apps, so I was aware that it was a growing industry…

But I never realized the true importance until a few months ago when I was asked to generate leads for a Mobile App company (on Upwork), and holy hell — was I amazed.

It seems like everybody and their dog is looking for mobile apps anymore, and even though you have to be careful with some entrepreneurs that are just “testing the waters”…

Most companies will pay very well for a new mobile app.

Where to learn:

So I’ve spent a lot of time asking clients (who work in this field) how hard it is to design apps, and from what I understand, even though some apps can get pretty complicated…

You ‘ll be able to knock out 85% of apps with one of these courses.

The wrap

As somebody who has personally worked with each and every one of the skills just mentioned, I can assure you none of them are something you can learn overnight…

But at the same time, they’re all something that anybody can learn…

And once you do, you’ll have a valuable skill you can use for the rest of your life.

P.S. That’s the skill part and if you’re wanting to learn more about the “business” side of things, I’ve created a free course for you — found here

--

--