Crainte Au Dela de L’Oeil

Fear Beyond the Eye — Sequel to Faces of the Monitor, Pt. 2 / 8

Good Day, Adam
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO
22 min readSep 25, 2024

--

Written in August 2005

© 2005, ADAM MULLIN
© 2024, ADAM MULLIN — punctuation, grammatical edits and improved clarification

MATURE CONTENT

back | Part One

read | FACES OF THE MONITOR

16

19. EXT. GRAND HOTEL CANAL STREET — LATE AFTERNOON

A few CARS pass by. GREG’s head is still throbbing. He runs ahead of MAXINE and opens the door as if begging for her to be happy.

She goes up to him and pushes him aside in the stomach. He lets go of the door and she enters on her own.

20. FLASHBACK — INT: JAIL CELL

There are two other DRUNKS with MAXINE and GREG. GREG is urinating and laughing while MAXINE is crying on a fold-up chair.

MAXINE
What am I doing with my life? How can I love this man?

GREG stops laughing, and a pearl of sweat drips off his head into the toilet.

21. INT. THEIR HOTEL ROOM — EVENING

MAXINE enters into the room, her face swells up in redness. Her eyes become agitated and teary. She walks forward arms crossed to the curtains and closes them.

GREG slowly enters and closes the door. The room is dimly lit. A usual hotel-sized room with a king-sized bed, two lamps on each side of the bed, a desk with a lamp on it, two windows now covered in a curtain, a bathroom, closet, and a television cabinet. MAXINE walks past the bed and massages her eyes while looking in the bathroom mirror. GREG is beginning to speak searching for the quick-fix statement, but nothing comes out.

MAXINE
You know what you did? You know what you fucking did almost 24 hours ago?!

GREG
Baby, you know I didn’t mean to, I-

MAXINE
You were all over her. I haven’t seen her since high school. You pissed on a public landmark! Fuck you, Greg! Everyone was watching. Fuck you, Greg!

GREG
At least you were somewhere on my mind… the whole time.

MAXINE marches out of the bathroom and clinches her fist. She comes close to hitting him square in the face.

MAXINE
Shut the hell up, Greg! You made us the laugh of the entire Big Easy, and look you kind and compassionate lover you-your actions hurt me! You remember that? See these stitches on my arm: you did that to me!

MAXINE displays her stitches inches in front of his eyes.

17

I hate you, Greg! This is not a vacation, it’s sexual harassment — all of it. News flash, I found out you don’t even love me!

GREG
Maxine, I love you! You’re the Max… you’re the best.

MAXINE
Oh, and she said you were cute. You flirted to her in front of my face. You had soggy diarrhea in front of my face, and you just waved your penis in the air saying it was cute!

GREG
Why don’t you go to hell! I don’t have to pay for you; this trip was a gift!

MAXINE
Some gift! Oops, I really didn’t book the airplane tickets on-line. Screwball me expects Maxine to pay for it, since this trip is a gift.

GREG
I owe you for that. Fuck, I owe everything to you, baby… listen.

MAXINE
It’s funny I didn’t give birth to you!

GREG’S expression becomes mortified. He SLAPS MAXINE in the face. She gasps and punches him in the chest.

Okay, that was wrong of me. I know your mother died when she gave birth to you. Okay, I apologize… Look, I don’t know what to fucking do right now.

If one night here with you is hell, what would other nights be like with you?

The question passes through the SILENCE felt in the room between the two.

GREG
They’d be the best moments in your life. Baby, you don’t understand, I’m not an A+ man. I’m not your brother who’s a general on the field; I’m just a morsel in the capitalist system. But, when I saw your face, I knew I owed you the world. Nothing else matters to me.

MAXINE
Not even Monica? You wanted to get into her panties a few hours ago.

GREG
Baby, I was drunk-

MAXINE
You’re awake now, give me an answer, Greg!

GREG
I love you, baby, I love you.

MAXINE
I guess it’s…

MAXINE looks into GREG’S terrified body now with two hands holding himself up with the desk chair.

I guess it’s okay. I don’t know what to say anymore with you. We’re both exhausted. I have the aspirin bottles in the bathroom. I still don’t know. We’ll talk in the morning okay?

GREG
Please, baby. Please have good dreams.

MAXINE
Greg.

GREG
Yes, baby?

MAXINE
Can you get that extra bed sheet in the closet? So you can sleep on the floor, okay?

MAXINE goes to her suitcase and takes out her long shirt gown set. GREG takes off his shirt.

MAXINE feels the weight of what she just asked him as she watches him get undressed.

GREG takes off his jeans into a pair of black briefs. GREG sits down on the bed and there is a long scratch and cut from his knee down to his ankle. By removing his jeans, it starts to bleed again. GREG doesn’t notice as some blood drips onto the carpet.

19

MAXINE rushes to get a wet towel from the bathroom and quickly applies it to the wound.

MAXINE
Why didn’t you tell the police about this? They could have fixed it, like my arm.

GREG
I didn’t know I was still bleeding a bit. I think it opened from my jeans. Max, baby, because I think I deserved it. When you racked that guy, I wish you racked me instead.

MAXINE
If I racked you then, you would have peed all over me.

GREG
Good thing that didn’t happen. Are you done?

MAXINE
No. I don’t want you to bleed all over the hotel sheets and blankets; they might wonder.

GREG
Baby, thanks, and thanks for saving my sorry ass.

MAXINE
I got to fix this leg now.

GREG kneels down and kisses MAXINE’S head.

22. EXT. GRAND HOTEL CANAL STREET — NIGHT

The only sounds are the PASSING TRAFFIC. The hotel has a traditional French exterior with rod iron balconies. The hotel’s gas lamps flicker vibrantly just above the sidewalk. Above the hotel’s entrance door is a black security camera with a blinking blue light. On the camera is a logo of the company EKIOHK.

23. EXT. THE AQUARIUM OF AMERICAS — SUNRISE

20

The sunrise glitters on the aquarium’s green sliced-cylinder roof. The atmosphere is completely QUIET except for the sound of BUBBLES RISING.

24. INT. SHARK EXHIBIT

A grimacing shark swims into view. There are several sharks swimming in an oddly dark tank. Suddenly, the sound of a SHOT from a gun is heard.

A cloud of something bloody plunges into the water. One of the sharks swims down and pulls a bit of meat from the blood cloud descending into the water. The bloody cloud seems to be slowly disappearing. The object is GREG’S leg with the scratch on it still bleeding. The sharks bite off some more pieces of it. The sound of BUBBLES CEASES.

25. INT. THEIR HOTEL ROOM — MORNING

GREG wakes up suddenly from the dream. He looks at sleeping MAXINE who decided to let him sleep in bed with her. He calms down, and he gently kisses her forehead.

26. INT. HOTEL ROOM BATHROOM

GREG is shirtless wearing a towel and applies shaving gel to his face. He takes his razor and begins to shave. His focus drifts to the water filling up near the drain in the sink.

27. FLASHBACK —INT. SHARK EXHIBIT

The dream of his blood-covered leg captures his attention. Suddenly, the leg bursts.

28. INT. HOTEL ROOM BATHROOM

GREG gasps and cuts himself accidentally with the razor. A drop of blood pancakes on the granite counter. GREG quickly mats his facial cut with a tissue.

29. EXT. GRAND HOTEL CANAL STREET — MORNING

GREG comes out of the hotel wearing cargo shorts and a Hawaiian style button down shirt, and sandals. He still has the tissue on his face from the shaving incident. GREG looks both ways, and walks across the street when the light turns green.

30. EXT. RIVERWALK SHOPPING AREA — MORNING

21

GREG goes into the RIVERWALK SHOPPING AREA along the Mississippi River. There are PEOPLE walking around, and there is a man playing his harmonica near the entrance of the SHOPPING AREA collecting a tip by ANOTHER MAN who walks by GREG.

31. INT. RIVERWALK — MORNING

The view of the Mississippi River glitters through the windows. GREG walks past several shops with a clear directive in mind. He then finds a shopping map placard. He points at it, looks forward and walks away.

32 INT. GREAT DISCOVERIES JEWELRY STORE

GREG walks in and starts to examine several pieces through the glass counters. The JEWELRY STORE CASHIER eyes GREG.

JEWELRY STORE CASHIER
Looking for anything in particular, sir?

GREG
Something that says you’re the love of my life.

JEWELRY STORE CASHIER
So, an attempt?

GREG
If that’s what you want to call it; but for her, it’s not an attempt, it’s an answer. I’ll take that ring on the right.

The JEWELRY STORE CASHIER rings him up, and GREG pays by credit card. The JEWELRY STORE CASHIER then carefully packages the ring in a small red box. GREG places the box into his pocket and nods to the JEWELRY STORE CASHIER with an optimistic smile.

32. EXT. RIVERWALK — MORNING

GREG exits the door, and is abruptly stopped as there stands MONICA in very short shorts with a collared shirt. She is standing with a tall, Hispanic man in his mid-thirties. His name is RICARDO MORENO.

MONICA
Good morning, Greg! Aren’t you going to say hi to your partner in crime?

22

GREG is gathering his thoughts.

GREG
Oh hey… how are you doing this morning?

MONICA
Greg, this is my husband, Ricardo Moreno.

GREG shakes RICARDO’S hand. GREG tries to smile.

RICARDO
It’s a pleasure. EKIOHK’S really going up, it must be exciting working for the world’s largest electronics company.

GREG
It’s fairly interesting, but somewhat competitive. What’s your league of trade?

RICARDO
I am a politician.

GREG looks at MONICA.

GREG
That just about sums it up, doesn't it? No, really I have more of an interest than that.

MONICA
What my husband is implying is that he’s running again this year for Louisiana Governor. But you know, he does have a job right now, tell him about it.

RICARDO
I’m with the CIA.

GREG chuckles worriedly.

GREG
Now, I didn’t do anything when I was with your wife, yesterday.

23

MONICA
He knows.

RICARDO
CIA.

GREG
C-U-R. Ha!

RICARDO and GREG laugh a bit. MONICA is confused.

MONICA
Well, I guess we better “C” you later. We’ll call you and Max when something pops up.

GREG
Have a nice one.

MONICA
Oh we will. Right, secret agent man?

GREG tries to play it as a “no hard feelings” take, and walks away with a wave.

34. EXT. GRAND HOTEL CANAL STREET — MORNING

GREG is trying to prepare himself for meeting up with MAXINE. He takes the tissue piece off his face and places it in his pocket.

GREG (PRACTICING TO HIMSELF)
From my world to yours, I do. No: too cheesy. Oh, Maxine, wherefore art thou Maxine in my life-No, no. To be or not to be, or I may return this novelty item… Okay, just relax, okay. Here goes.

GREG enters the front doors. The security camera with a blue blinking light turns towards the door.

35. EXT. OUTSIDE THEIR HOTEL ROOM

GREG fixes his hair, and takes out the red box from his pocket.

24

GREG
Here goes.

36. INT. GREG’S HOTEL ROOM — MORNING

GREG carefully opens the door to his room and closes it. The curtains are wide open, and the covers are still over (we think MAXINE) a body.

GREG gets nervous and looks at the GOLD RING he is about to give to her. He walks towards the bed and pulls back the cover slowly. There is a light BUZZING sound as GREG pulls the comforter back.

As he pulls it over the “body”, there is a slight wiggling in the sheets. He pulls it back further, and it’s a SPOTTED MORAY EEL — which lunges out for GREG’S ARM. The EEL sinks its teeth into GREG’S ARM. GREG yells and falls off the bed as the EEL is shaking and flapping its body against GREG’S body, neck and his face. The EEL bites further into his arm.

GREG stumbles around trying to find something to pull it off his body. He looks around and tries to get the desk lamp, but the EEL’S whipping body pushes the lamp away. He makes a sprint for the closet and grabs a wooden coat hanger.

He flings the EEL’S body over the bathroom vanity, and proceeds to crush its head with the hanger until the EEL lets go. He pushes too hard, and with a CRACK he kills the EEL, and it lets go of his arm. The EEL stops moving.

GREG grabs some loose wash cloths and covers his injury. He then pokes the EEL’S body and it wiggles slightly.

GREG goes back to the bed and pulls a pillow case from a pillow. Carefully, with the clothes hanger, he pushes the EEL into the case. He goes back to the window, opens it and tosses the EEL body out the window. He quickly closes the window.

The pain is unreal and GREG feels compelled to hit the bedroom room wall to counter the excruciating swelling. His blood flings across onto the wallpaper.

GREG
It’s like fucking venom! Shit. My whole arm, shit!

GREG looks at his arm and the injury is beginning to turn blue. GREG begins to gasp for air from the shock of the injury.

Above him is another security camera with a blue blinking light. GREG moves towards the other side of the bed and sees a note scribbled on the hotel pad.

He stumbles, and leans his arm agains the bed to read the note which is in cursive.

GREG
Shit. “Honey, be a doll and call me at 465–8188.”

GREG puts the note down.

GREG
Be a doll? Who the fuck says that? I can’t wait to hear the reason why she killed me.

25

GREG rolls across the bed to the side with the phone on it. From rolling, GREG leaves some blood on the bed. He places his bleeding arm on his shorts. With the other hand he places the room phone on his shoulder and begins to type the numbers in.

GREG’S body is shaking from the pain. The dial tone RINGS four times before it is answered.

GREG
Hello, damn it, answer!

VON MEUTRIR
Bonjour, Mr. Tomello, don’t you look stunning today.

GREG
Whoever you are, you should fucking know better than to leave your eel in my bed!

VON MEUTRIR
What… damn it you just interrupted my train of thought. Nevertheless, nevertheless. Monsieur, I realize you're in some pain and-

GREG
Look you asshole, what did you do with my wife?!

VON MEUTRIR
This is simply an outrage, such manners!

The line hangs up with a CLICK.

Greg frantically dials again. His blood is running down his shorts onto the carpet.

The phone answers with the laughing of VON MEUTRIR that changes into an inhuman tone.

GREG
Okay, bonjour, I have blood dripping all over me.

VON MEUTRIR
Isn’t it eccentric, you’re your own natural park.

26

GREG
Please, I can’t breathe, where’s my wife?

VON MEUTRIR
What is that? Oh, she says you’re her boyfriend. Maybe you may be thinking too strongly of her, am I correct?

GREG’S patience is waning, but he has no choice.

GREG
Yes, you are correct. God damn it, fucking pain.

VON MEUTRIR
Shhh, relax Greg. This is a four-star hotel. Enjoy it a bit, before we talk about your new position.

GREG
New position?

VON MEUTRIR
The American man always straight to business; no play and friendly gesture.

GREG
Before we go into this, I want to know where she is.

VON MEUTRIR
Oh my, she didn’t tell you about our little luncheon reservation we had planned for you. Oh, and that explains your lousy attire, doesn't it. I suggest you take off those clothes, immediately.

GREG
Damn it, I can’t breathe you sick-o. God!

27

VON MEUTRIR
I would highly recommend a leisurely stripping. Please off with the apparel, Greg.

GREG
What? Is there a point to this shit?

VON MEUTRIR
Please, I insist only the bare minimum from you. Only, she, my dear self and your, let me see- crusty by now-eyes will be enjoying this naughty burla.

GREG
Max! Fine, okay, okay, asshole!

GREG unbuttons his shirt quickly and wiggles it off, and with one hand removes his shorts and his briefs. He sits back down on the bed. To his shock, he begins to feel slightly better as without the constraints of his clothing the blood begins to flow better. He begins to breathe.

GREG
I can breathe.

VON MEUTRIR
The importance of listening, Mr. Tomello. Aw, look the naked male body, so many imperfections. I don’t even know why they don’t call you a pre-male.

GREG
Where is this going? Where is she? Damn, my arm, I can’t feel it anymore.

VON MEUTRIR
One thing at a time, step-by-step, Mr. Tomello, is that Italian? What are you, Italian, Mr. Tomello?

GREG

28

Why should you fucking care?

VON MEUTRIR
Temper, temper. I can also give your non-wife, your non-wife ha, hah! Not a wife at all… Ass of Italian or breast of Spain. Answer it with one of those, Mr. Tomello.

GREG
Ass of Italian.

VON MEUTRIR
We have something in common, we are truly romantic fellows in the art of love, though I am more of a finder’s keepers than you are.

GREG
On that note, do you know of anything to cure this?

VON MEUTRIR
Have you checked the Bible, said a prayer or two?

GREG
No, I guess not, have you?

VON MEUTRIR
I’ve read the Bible back and forth and there seems to always be a sentence that fits the haystack. But I guess you can never be cured….

GREG
Aw, my arm. Don’t hurt her.

VON MEUTRIR
I was only just planning my day around it, but maybe you should be more holy, as I do consider the value of the whole of your masculine finesse.

29

GREG takes a moment and then the pattern of VON MEUTRIR’s dialog hits him. He looks to the bed stand next to him, and hops to the side of the bed so he can pull its drawer open with one hand. Inside, next to a copy of the Bible, is a SYRINGE WITH PURPLE LIQUID in it. GREG carefully takes out the syringe and pulls off the needle cover with his teeth. He spits it out.

GREG
Okay, French storyteller, give me a straight-up answer.

VON MEUTRIR
But before we anchor into that area, let me talk about one of my travels into the Red Sea.

GREG catches on.

GREG
How far did you travel into it, into the Red Sea?

VON MEUTRIR
I myself was too scared to swim in the sea because of the rumors. Instead my dearly beloved brought the Red Sea to me. She said if you did your finger in just over your nails’ length, the rich minerals in the water will exfoliate your dermis and above.

GREG’S body is shaking as he carefully guides the syringe to where the eel delivered the bite. GREG begins to slide the needle into the area, and he shakes with pain.

VON MEUTRIR
A very touching subject, wouldn’t you agree? Now after the sunset that evening, the last of the Red Sea she was holding for me, dried up- because that’s what water does. I asked myself, why does everything have to be so, so, so temporary?

30

GREG
Thanks… and what was your answer?

VON MEUTRIR
There was no answer! I was just asking myself a question. Now your dear Maxi seems to be an excellent hostess, always smiling and willing to take orders. A little nervous at first, she got acquainted with another mistress: an Iron Maiden. I think she seemed somewhat more confined in her protection.

GREG
Don’t fucking kill her!

VON MEUTRIR
Ta, ta, ta! Fucking kill; no such thing! But a killing fuck, aw yes, there is such a naughty event that only few men have lived to depict.

GREG
Okay, Pierre, what do you want? How can I get her back?

VON MEUTRIR
Aw ha! Finally, we meet eye to eye. She tells me you’d do a lot for her, but tell me, would your submission work under a different master? Would you do a lot for me?

GREG
I, what?

VON MEUTRIR

31

Would you do some favors, it would mean the “world" to her and myself? And the greatest man is the man that gives himself for true love.

VON MEUTRIR begins SLURPING and starts PANTING with his BREATHING.

He gives himself up when all else is at a nadir. So, Mr. Tomello, a bargain has been reached, yes or no? Sweet life or a soaking suffocating death? Hmmm, oh did I say that out loud? Yes or no?

GREG
Tell her I love her, first.

VON MEUTRIR
After this, dear, Greg wants to bang and fuck you filthy, Maxine. Isn’t that repulsive?

GREG
That’s not-

VON MEUTRIR
This is not a love connection program, you piece of flesh, either you’re in or you both die.

GREG
Yes… I will.

GREG swallows a bit and looks down at his healing wound, and drying stains on his shorts.

VON MEUTRIR
A ravishing applause… thank you, thank you, Mr. Tomello. Oh, but enough about your application process. Tonight, will be a beautiful night. I expect you in that black tie tux in your suitcase, make it snazzy yet oo-la-la, and then rendezvous with my dear friend, Mordreaux at the World Trade Center, downtown. It is

32

the one that looks like it is stiff and pointy. But let me not arouse your Maxi — especially in her feeble condition!

GREG
What are you doing to her?! You said you wouldn’t-

The phone line CLICKS. GREG hangs up the phone with a SLAM and covers his head in his hands.

37. EXT. WORLD TRADE CENTER — NIGHT

The RUNNING WATER JET in the Spanish Plaza fountain intertwines with the wave of CROWDS and TOURISTS moving each way. A RED LIMO drives by and drops a few scantily clad HOOKERS out which enter in the World Trade Center. GREG emerges from the crowd wearing a black tuxedo which includes a black shirt, and black shoes with red socks. His hair is gelled back and he’s wearing sunglasses despite the nighttime scene. The only thing bright on his suit is his white bowtie. GREG’S nerves are on edge, as he is considering the worst. He walks towards the entrance.

38. INT. WORLD TRADE CENTER ELEVATOR

GREG enters into one of the elevators with two FEMALE HOOKERS who are wearing barely concealing leather tape-like clothing. One of the HOOKERS is showing the way with her hand as if instructed to do so. They both eye GREG’S vulnerability and timid nature despite his fit build. As he gets to the back of the elevator they both lay their arms on his shoulders.

HOOKER (RIGHT)
Quite a James Bond, nice tux it suits your chest.

HOOKER (LEFT)
Tuxy, would mind paying our coverage, I am mean our covers at the club?

GREG
I don’t think they’ll charge you… I uh, I barely see any cover at all.

HOOKER (RIGHT)
Cute.

The HOOKERS and GREG laugh. The HOOKER on the left strokes his face.

The SOUND of LOUD MUSIC grows as the elevator reaches the top.

39. INT. CLUB ROTUNDRA — NIGHT

33

As GREG exits the elevator onto onyx-colored flooring, there are men and women dancing extremely close with slightly broken disco balls radiating from the ceiling. The ceiling is carpeted in shaggy crimson textures. The club is rotating with the windows displaying the night of the River and downtown.

GREG stops as the HOOKERS don’t let go. They begin to crawl down his body and grip his hands on both sides.

HOOKER (RIGHT)
Hey Tux-ticular, we have someone we know who we would love if you met.

GREG
Actually, ladies, I had someone I’d —

HOOKER (LEFT)
Please pumpkin, it would really brighten our day. Please come on, sugar.

GREG
Well…

GREG starts to look up and down the HOOKERS’ bodies.

GREG
Why not? So, who’s this special someone?

HOOKER (RIGHT)
He’s rich and sexy just like you.

HOOKER (RIGHT) runs her other hand in between his legs, holding onto his right, and starts playing elevator with a stroking motion.

GREG
I’m both of those in one sentence?

HOOKER (LEFT)
Oh, he’s such a cute puppy. I love your sweet lips.

The HOOKERS abruptly stop and take out HANDGUNS from their bras which seem to be made of skin-colored material. They aim them at GREG. GREG takes a step back with one of his hands out as an attempt to stop them.

HOOKER (RIGHT)
You want your face jammed through that window over there, Greg, and then tossed over? Mordreaux’s been waiting an hour, talk about an insult.

34

HOOKER (LEFT)
Come on, time is money, Greg. Follow her and enter the club quarters room.

HOOKER (RIGHT) lowers her gun towards his crotch, and she puts her index finger against her lips. She then whips her hair against his face. She spins her body and lets her hips move into each of her steps on the club’s surface. HOOKER (LEFT) walks around and places her gun against his back.

HOOKER (LEFT)
Arms up and on your head.

40. EXT. CLUB QUARTERS ROOM

Oddly no one seems to even notice them as they walk through the crowd towards the open entrance, held by HOOKER(RIGHT).

41. INT. CLUB QUARTERS ROOM

The lighting is very dim. The room is encompassed in black painted brick walls. There is a long white marble table in the center. There is a yellow leather chair closest to the room’s entrance. At the far end of the table is a tall red leather chair. On the right and left hand side of the table are barely visible black wooden pews.

GREG suddenly gets kicked in both legs by the HOOKERS and he stumbles a bit.

HOOKER (RIGHT) slides out a neon pink lighter from her bra and suddenly bends down and lights what looks like a fountain bordering the room. The fountain contains a flammable liquid, and the traveling flames ignite the room in a dancing flickering vibrance.

HOOKER (RIGHT) kicks GREG’s ankle and points him towards the yellow chair.

HOOKER (LEFT)
Sit your loafer ass on that chair. Mordreaux will be with you momentarily.

GREG
Okay! Okay!

HOOKER (RIGHT)
And loosen up. It kills him to see someone ball-less…except us.

HOOKER (LEFT)
Speak for yourself, sweety.

The two HOOKERS walk behind GREG and SLAM the door shut. GREG watches the flames sparkle against the darkness. His gaze is led to the ceiling.

On the ceiling is a bizarre mural of headless female being with eight breast, and there are two wolves eying towards her ready to pounce.

While GREG is gawking upward, the sound of CHAINS RATTLING punches GREG out of his mesmerized state.

Looking forward from his vantage is MORDREAUX. MORDREAUX is a tall African American [black — this was written in 2005] with spike-like black hair with bright red

35

highlights. He is wearing a shirt made of red fishnets. MORDREAUX’S muscular chest has a tattoo of a Medusa head with hand-carved slits where the eyes are. The cuts look brand new as the blood has just dried. MORDREAUX has a forked beard with a red diamond airbrushed into it. Half of MORDREAUX’s face is painted white.

MORDREAUX
Gregory Tomello…welcome. You may be wondering where her head went? You heard of getting head, right? Well as the story goes, she was chewing on a lumberjack’s sawhorse and off it came. So, on the topic of head.

MORDREAUX licks his lips.

Let’s talk about who I am.

GREG
Yes, that would be nice. I guess.

MORDREAUX
I am the inventor, the author, the artist and the fire starter of voyeurism! Together with the hacker league, we’ve been providing companies with enough power to win lawsuits and lead their enemies to bankruptcy. We have changed the way we look at everyone. And that is through our own company, which started in 1980, the Voyeur Company. We made a secret law passed by several governments including this one, that at least five cameras are required to be in anyone’s homes.

GREG
How?

MORDEAUX
Permission is hard to find, so we made them hard to find. In addition to voyeurism on humans, we do animals, puppies with cute tails, and of course cacti-covered people…people get aroused by all sorts of subjects.

GREG
So, what do I have to do, today? Make a porn?

36

MORDREAUX
Greg, please make the distinction between brother porn and his sister, voyeurism. Porn is scripted; voyeurism is secret and unplanned yet…

MORDREAUX raises his arms and hands which have red painted nails.

MORDREAUX
It is almost omniscient.

MORDREAUX’s arms lower.

MORDREAUX
What if I told you voyeurism is the most power negotiation tool ever used!

GREG
I would say alright, and then I would wonder where Maxine is.

MORDREAUX
I know how many times you…Greg… have had sex; how many times you’ve been humiliated; how many times you’ve seen death and death has seen you! I even have pictures of your mother. She was a bit plumper than you.

GREG
You have a voyeur of my mom? Wait, what am I saying?!

MORDREAUX
I even have one of Maxine and what is really going on to her frail brittle body as we tick on.

GREG
Please stop.

MORDREAUX
Then I have who really assassinated who, and that there are so many cover-ups in life. Why make voyeurism illegal? You know your mother was a very sweet mother, the

37

whole “homemade cookies” bit. I do actually have a clip of her and then her dying in my pocket. Aren’t you interested?

Tears begin to leak from GREG’S eyes. He has wanted some semblance to a maternal figure almost all his life beyond the still photos and stories. GREG grips his knees and feels an immense burning in his stomach.

GREG
All I want to do is get Maxine out.

GREG clutches his mouth as if he made the wrong decision and starts to hit the table with his fist.

MORDREAUX
And now in today’s world, voyeurism is improving to a “T”-

GREG
Improving?

MORDREAUX
Original images can be re-invented. Remember, the Arizona Conflict — that was an early example. Now, we can change film roles, and like I mentioned earlier, lawsuits have been won due to the improvements brought by my dear son: Sir Voyeur!

MORDREAUX kisses both his hands and raises them to the ceiling.

My Sir Voyeur who has gone up in the world! But wouldn’t you like to see your mother? Or your mother’s head replaced by a guinea pig’s?

GREG
Please shut the fuck up!

MORDREAUX
Such harsh words. You know voyeurism can be torture, too? Here are some examples…

White projector slides extend downward from the ceiling onto the black walls. The flames in the fountain change color to blue.

The sound of a PROJECTOR WHEEL being set in motion echoes in the room.

On the right projector screens appears a film where a BUTCHER in white holds a rabbit by the ears. Surrounding the room is the SOUND OF A CHICKEN CLUCKING IN TERROR. The BUTCHER’S HAND movement with the hanging rabbit is similar to holding a chicken’s head

38

for preparing to crack its neck. But the rabbit is unharmed, the motion is on a loop.

On the lefthand wall is a home video of PEOPLE with saliva dripping out of their mouths eating raw chicken bits.

MORDREAUX
So you may wonder where the Cadbury Bunny went? Now, for this movie of an infant being devoured by fire ants do her negligent mother. This video took a lot of work but won a grand amount in a case two years ago-

GREG
PLEASE for God sakes, stop!

GREG is shaking and contorting into tears.

MORDEAUX
What about momma? Be patient and just maybe-

GREG
Please, what is the mission?

MORDREAUX
But before, I must warn you: if you screw up, it is not the fault of Voyeur Enterprises.

GREG can’t take this anymore.

GREG
Yes, I am ready, Mr. Mordreaux.

MORDREAUX
It is Emperor Mordreaux to you! Now, today, my client is looking for two juicy pictures of two celebrities who are here in New Orleans. You, Greg, just have to get breast crevice shots from these two women: Pamela Keters and Heather Dorothy.

GREG

39

That’s simple; I’ll get the job done well. But-

MORDREAUX
Too much excitement can get you killed, you know? I’ve taken pictures of dead excitement. But, Greg, I was not finished; you have to get the their room number and which hotel they’re staying at.

GREG
But I’ll be arrested. It’s illegal!

MORDREAUX
Imagine your life and the life of Maxine tomorrow if this is not completed. Now, here’s your camera and a notepad. Meet her back in an hour.

MORDREAUX slides a metal tray with the camera and a notepad with bright red lips painted on it. The tray spills out onto GREG’S lap as he quickly grips both.

GREG
An hour! Emperor Mordreaux, I-

MORDREAUX
Your life is on the line. You better use it properly, or you’re just another ripple when the stone is tossed.

--

--