I Finally See the Light at the End of The Tunnel!

Melinda Judy
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO
3 min readJul 26, 2024
Photo by Lanju Fotografie on Unsplash

For months now I’ve been viewing the constant chaos erupting in U.S. politics where two grandpas were competing for the next presidential run. It didn’t seem to matter to many people if it was the good Grampa verses the bad Grampa, it was just two elderly men both showing symptoms of cognitive decline in competition for the most important position in the nation.

My emotions ran from everything from frustration to despair towards friends, family members, and acquaintances who held the double standard that Biden sounds like a feeble old man who can’t put two sentences together but ignore the fact that Donald Trump also makes many obvious speech gaffes and he should be serving two prison sentences together.

Every time I hear Trump speak at one of his rallies, I feel a wave of nausea as his adoring fans clap and cheer while he speaks about absurdities like the “late great Hanibal Lecter" from the movie, “Silence Of The Lambs”, who would love to have you for dinner, electrocution from sinking in a boat holding a heavy battery, shark attacks, and low or no water pressure in the shower so he can’t rinse his beautiful head of hair. Maybe he needs to pay his water bill!

What does any of this have to do with real issues like inflation, health care, climate change, or infastructure!?

After the debate at the end of June I felt absolutely doomed. Biden sounded so weak and struggled to utter words while Trump was fact checked in about 30 lies.

I thought it was most likely a done deal that Trump would win the election and the U.S would become the next Nazi Germany before World War II under Project 2025.

Then came the attempted assassination of Donald Trump. Some people speculate that it was staged and claimed Hitler staged assassination attempts to score political points.

Although the details of the attempt raises a lot of questions, I’m not inclined to believe any conspiracy theory until there is evidence to back it up.

When Biden dropped out of the race, I felt a mixture of anger and sadness. I think Biden was a great president who accomplished so much that actually helps the working class people instead of the fat cat billionaires of huge corporations. But his decision was selfless, for the good of the country instead of himself.

Since he handed the torch to Vice president Kamala Harris, she has grabbed it and is running with it. There is a new enthusiasm in the Democratic party as over 100 million in donations came pouring in to her campaign.

While she was Biden’s V. P. I didn’t hear her speak that much, but now that she’s front and center, she is proving herself to be a class act. She is articulate, coherent, and speaks in full sentences about issues people care to hear about. I believe she will move us forward instead of backwards to the Dark Ages.

My feelings of gloom and doom have now changed to excitement and hope for the future.

I’m looking forward to hearing more of her speeches, finding out who her V.P. pick will be, and I hope she mops the floor with Trump as the prosecutor verses the predator.

Having the first woman president may be what the U.S. needs.

--

--

Melinda Judy
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO

I want to share my travel stories and hear about those of others. Currently I am traveling on a shoestring retirement income.