I Let Kanye West Down!

Phillip Saturn
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO
2 min readDec 11, 2023
Photo by Axel Antas-Bergkvist on Unsplash

In the city of dreams where the stars align, Kanye West, a legend in his prime, arose. From the bottom up, an icon’s ascent, his journey, a tale of relentless intent.

Childhood memories of beats and relatable rhymes, his vision soared through challenging times. A billionaire status, sneakers adorned and success defined; a legacy born.

But oh, how we let him down. In the glare of fame wearing a crown. PTSD disguised in arrogance, a well-played part and yet we missed the whispers of a troubled heart.

Public stunts or silent cries, violent outbursts followed by loss upon loss and yet, we labeled confusion, a misguided stroll.

His mother, his love, his own blessing, oh dear Donda, gone too soon, a storm within brews. Family crumbled, identity lost, yet, we shrugged it off. As he lost his family, his guiding light, his children, walls started closing in and suddenly the silence became too loud I guess. A father’s heartbreak, a soul laid bare and bound to break any man after-all.

Not so long afterward, switching genres like a musical tide. Gospel, hip-hop, genres collided. ‘Confused again’; we concluded as he struggled to express the depth of the soul that thrives.

He declared a run for the presidency and we ridiculed; “such inconsistency”. Little did we see the roots run deep, a wounded soul struggling to sleep.

“I let Kanye down,” the refrain we sing. In the shadows of fame, the broken wing. A plea for support, understanding, and care, not judgmental whispers in the air. How much I long for us to learn from this grave tale, to see beyond the public veil. Celebrities, ‘icons,’ as they may be but still human and they go through the motions just as much as we do.

For in the spotlight shadows play and sometimes we all lose our way. “I let Kanye West down,” a truth to bear but may we stand by him and show we care.

I hope his demise won’t be a suicidal one.

--

--

Phillip Saturn
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO

Writer I Author I Ghostwriter I Content Creator I Photography I Cosmic Energy - MOTHER SATURN I