Petrichor!

It’s an unusual word to speak of, not commonly used well; it refers to a smell

Vipul Agarwal
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO
2 min readJun 29, 2024

--

Petrichor: A pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather.
Source: Google

Photo by Nick Scheerbart on Unsplash

It is one of the best feelings for my senses. Whenever there is rain after a long period of warm days and dry spells. How often do I wish for a single shower? But it usually arrives when it is in the mood, and ironically I am not.

But the smell that radiates from the ground up is so pure and addictive that it washes away my bad mood as I feel alive again.

The thing I notice after every shower is the return of greenery all over in my surroundings. The sky is clear with a tint of Blue. Clouds are white and pure. The mountains are lush green with vegetation.

With birds tweeting and chirping in jolly. If I am lucky, I even got to see a rainbow, Which is always a beautiful sight!

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

So it is time to share something about rain. Here is a poem. It explains my longing for the rain; here it is.

It shan’t arrive to grace us,
”This was my thought,” as I muse,
Every time before its revival,
Dust storms would come with the denial.
A newlywed bride, hush man, this storm betrays us.

Coups launched with Heaven’s will,
Winds arose, sands flew like drills,
A subtle hint, rain shan’t fall in,
Sky blue tint, cracks spreading from within.
Croak-croak, loud cries, as I look downhill.

I found something beautiful and holy,
As I remember the old days jolly.

Dark clouds approach,
A dark black shroud,
Chill within the wind,
As it started

Tip-tip-croak-chirp
croak-croak-croak-chirp
tip-tip-tip (loud)-tweet
tip (loud)-tip-kaboom (thunder).

Photo by Roman Synkevych on Unsplash

Thank you for reading. ╰ (▔∀▔) >> Everyone, enjoy your weekend.

--

--