The Girl I Met on Valentine’s Day

Lukman Aufbau
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO
3 min readJul 26, 2024

--

Photo by Ilsu Fan on Unsplash

I had been trying to write this piece for a long time, but I couldn't put it down. I only know that once I wrote the first line, the rest would provide itself.

It was Valentine's Day, 2024. I was feeling a bit down, as I often do on this holiday. I walked through the garden, trying to assist my uncle in setting up a barbecue spot.

I noticed a young girl approaching me alone. She looked a bit lost in thought, so I hesitated for a moment before approaching her, hoping to persuade her to buy from my uncle's spot.

I tried all my marketing skills to convince her to buy from my uncle's spot, but luckily, that wasn't what she was looking for. She looked up, slightly startled, but then smiled at me and left.

After a few seconds, I saw her coming back, staring at me in the eyes from a distance. An underlying peacefulness gave her an almost divine presence.

She removed a bunch of money from her wallet and put it in my hands. "Excuse me," I asked gently, "have you made up your mind to buy the barbecue?"

She looked up slightly and said, "The money is for you, buy something for yourself."

After a long moment of uncomfortable silence, I spoke in a surprisingly commanding tone. "Thank you," I said.

--

--

Lukman Aufbau
Bouncin’ and Behaving Blogs TOO

Investment & Consultant Company Rep, Online Publishing and Platform COO | Author | CEO