Stress | Worry | Anxiety

How I Pace and Praise Myself for Less Stress

5 stress hacks that saved me when I was banned from my house

Sandra Pawula
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readApr 23, 2024

--

Fragile. That’s exactly how I felt whenever I imagined my house covered by a colorful, striped fumigation tent.

Although the event wouldn’t occur for months, worry, stress, and anxiety invaded my mind early on. They waxed and waned until the fumigation team finally allowed me to re-enter my home.

I didn’t like being a pile of nerves. But I decided to use those nervous episodes to employ personal life hacks to lessen my stress.

Overall, I fared well.

Here are the five stress hacks I used. They worked like a charm.

I worried about how I’d keep my cats safe.

The worry began after a friend told me about a cat who’d been killed during fumigation. The poor creature hid underneath the owner’s post-and-pier home and became encased by the fumigation tent.

Fortunately, my house sits on a cement slab—one less potential danger. Nevertheless, I worried one of my cats would get her stealth on, hide in the laundry basket in the back of the closet, and meet the same dismal fate.

--

--

Sandra Pawula
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Essays to calm your mind, ease your heart and access your inner wisdom. I love Hawaii, mindfulness, and living with ease. https://sandrapawula.substack.com/