9 Reasons Why I Prefer Alexa Reads My Books

John M
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readJun 22, 2023
Bing Image Creator

Audiobooks are more expensive and often less appealing.

Poor vision and eye fatigue make traditional books less accessible for me lately. I generally listen to audiobooks, but still, I like to read on my Kindle sometimes. I find buying books in digital format and letting Alexa or another computer voice read to me a great option. There are a lot of reasons people buy recorded audio books by human presenters, but a computer voice can be more appealing. Here are my reasons for preferring them:

  1. Emphasis on Words, Not Performance: I don’t want my books, “performed,” I want them read. Audiobooks often feel like radio dramas with their dramatic performances. I prefer a consistent, neutral narration that a computer voice like Alexa provides. It simply reads the text as it is, letting my imagination interpret the story in my own way, akin to traditional reading.
  2. Cost-Effective Reading: eBooks tend to be less expensive than their physical or audiobook counterparts. By opting for an eBook and using Alexa to read it aloud, I get the benefits of two formats for the price of one. This approach offers significant savings and the flexibility to switch between the formats as I desire.
  3. Accessibility and Convenience: Alexa’s availability across a broad range of devices enables me to listen to my books anywhere, anytime. Whether I’m working, exercising, or just relaxing, I can continue reading without any disruption.
  4. Reliability: While a human narrator might pronounce words incorrectly or inconsistently, a computer voice like Alexa offers dependable narration. I never have to listen to mispronunciations, voice fatigue, or odd, unexpected pauses.
  5. Voice Choice: Alexa gives me the option to select from various voices. With an audiobook, the wrong narrator can ruin a book, I could be stuck with a voice I find irritating. This is not the case with a computer voice.
  6. Familiarity and Consistency: With Alexa as the narrator, I enjoy a familiar and consistent reading experience. It’s the same voice that helps me schedule appointments or tells me the weather, which adds a sense of continuity and personal touch to the reading experience.
  7. Voice Command: The hands-free operation through voice command is a real advantage, especially when multitasking. I can start, stop, or adjust the reading speed without having to use my hands.
  8. Text Tracking: With the Alexa app, I can follow along with the highlighted text as it’s read aloud. I can switch to Kindle and highlight an important passage. This feature can be particularly useful when tackling complex books or when trying to improve my vocabulary.
  9. Improving AI technology: The evolving nature of artificial intelligence implies that the capabilities of computer voices like Alexa are likely to improve. Advancements continue to provide more natural-sounding voices, and better and personalized reading styles. In the future I may be able to create a new computer voice, even use my own voice.

Using a computer voice to read books blends the joys of traditional reading with modern technology’s conveniences. This approach emphasizes the author’s original words, supports personalized pace and volume, and facilitates easy, hands-free operation. The benefits range from accessibility and cost-effectiveness to reliability and flexibility, making it an attractive option for most readers.

--

--

John M
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Journalist, horseman, teacher. (PLEASE READ AND NOT FOLLOW RATHER THAN FOLLOW AND NOT READ!)