Short story | Fantasy

A Dream Goddess

A story inspired by a song

Mbhango Lefoka
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

A black silhouette dream goddess with wings. A fantasy short story.
A flying goddess by VectorStock

I wrote this piece when I was in high school. This used to be part of my unpublished handwritten anthology. I wrote it again from memory because I lost my first draft. It will never be like the original one. Even so, I hope this version is better.

Before reading this story, I recommend you listen to this song until its end:

Big Red M. Song found here.

You’ll understand the feel and flow of the lyrics used in this story. By the way, I got my story’s idea from this song.

Now that’s out of the way, let’s begin our short story:

My parents left me alone in the house. I locked all doors and closed the windows. In my bedroom, I’m sitting on a chair with my laptop on the table. My chin is resting on my folded arms as I watch my favourite animation. I’ve put it on loop, and I keep rapping its background music in my mind. The night makes me drowsy.

I wake up quickly with wide-open round white eyes. I see in all views. Everything around me is black, besides the table and chair. Now my back is upright and arms on my sides. Out of the blue, a female voice echoes seductive moans. My mouth syncs with the music that keeps playing. I can’t move my body.

My mouth sings on its own. “Daydream!”

“Daydream.” The same female voice repeated.

“I dream of you amid the flowers”

She repeats after me.

“For a couple of hours”

“For a couple of hours”

I protrude my chest. “Such a beautiful day”

“Such a beautiful…day”

The world changes. I’m now on a huge concert stage seeing my whole body moving on itself as my mouth raps the song’s lyrics. The audience is a countless crowd. They are all black paper people chains, with no faces. I stop when I get control of my body. A short chubby girl with fat cornrow braids and a white dashiki tunic with white wings appears next to me. She gives me a warm smile.

Then a black spiraled portal appears under me and pulls me down. I fall in, tumbling.

Everything turns to white. I’m now a wooden marionette manikin with strings above me. As I keep falling down with great speed, the strings move me around. My back gets hunched with my head facing forward. Arms and legs are now straight.

“Daydream!” I yell without control.

The concert girl appears and flies around me. “Daydream”

“I fell asleep beneath the flowers.” I can’t control myself.

“I fell asleep beneath the flowers”

“For a couple of hours…”

She kept repeating after me until we completed the chorus.

When she comes close and holds my chin to kiss me, I become blind.

I wake up with a flinch and look around me — everything is back to normal. I look at my laptop time, five hours had passed. The music that was playing in the dream, is playing in the animation in my laptop. I laugh with a hand over my mouth.

If you enjoyed this piece, follow me and subscribe to my newsletter for poems, short stories, challenges, and more, at no charge to you. You can also connect with me on other platforms.

Copyright © Mbhango Lefoka

--

--

Mbhango Lefoka
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

South African writer | Romance, Fiction, Challenges, Poems, Realism.