A Kitten Named Houdini

Rene Volpi Jr.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readMay 2, 2023

--

Photo by Mikhail Vasilyev on Unsplash

My name is Andre. As an angst-ridden writer, I must write when the brain tells me to, like doing my own therapy. Self-therapy with reluctance.

“Write, write, write! Put it all down, let it all out” — I hear ‘it’ saying.

Ok, sure, but for that, I need a certain amount of peace, a space in time that isn’t easy to find. Looking for it in all the wrong places, made me even more anxious.

After many moons of trial and error, someone suggested I adopt a CAT.

That I’ll be doing myself a favor, that I’ll be doing the cat definitely a favor and I’ll be making the world a better place.

What could go wrong, right? “Hmm”… I thought to myself…indeed, what could go wrong? maybe that might not be a bad idea!”. “Actually, it might turn out to be a great idea.”

Next, all I could think about was accomplishing that mission and as usual, being me, I started envisioning life with such company. It could also inspire me, I thought, help me with my anxiety and maybe even become my best friend. Can’t beat that, right?

I imagined myself petting its fur, hearing him or her purring with that out-of-this-world magnificent sound that only cats can do.

Yes, I stoked myself well. And couldn’t wait for the shelter to open in the morning.

--

--

Rene Volpi Jr.
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Storytelling, true adventures and essays. I tame lions & sharks :) Sailed from Argentina and I'll change the world with my pen. https://renegvolpi.substack.com