Dog Lover

A New Maneuver in Olympic Tennis

Lesson 85: You’ve got skills. Make sure you get proper credit for them!

Ken Van Camp
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readJul 19, 2024

--

biewer terrier puppy dressed as U.S. Olympic woman gymnast doing a handstand while a tennis ball flies over
Image created by author using DALL-E3

Following is a new lesson from Keke’s Guide to Training Your Human.

I love to watch the Olympics on television, and I caught the pre-trials of the U.S. Olympic gymnastics team earlier this month. Simone Biles does bigger jumps and twists than Deadpool and Wolverine combined. They even named a routine after her, the “Biles 2.”

Really? That’s the best name they could find?

This from the species that invented Cherries Garcia and Chunky Monkey?

I suggest Spider-Biles. What do you think?

The other Olympic sport I enjoy is tennis. It’s more fun than gymnastics, but nobody’s invented a new move in the last two hundred years.

Daddy is serving, but he cheats and hits the ball before I’m ready. It bounces high over my head, and he scores an ace for 15–0. Some people call it “15-love,” but there’s not much love on this side of the net today.

With my altitude disadvantage, I can see I will need Simone’s jumping abilities, and this time, I’m ready. When Daddy winds up for his next serve, I lead with a roundoff into a back handspring, then a flip in the pike…

--

--

Ken Van Camp
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Ken Van Camp may not be the perfect human, but he's trainable. At least that's what Keke says! Ken is the author of Keke's Guide to Training Your Human.