Heart Attack

A Sudden Heart Attack Killed My Brother Needlessly

Learn The Symptoms of a Heart Attack

Mary Acton
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

I am so angry to find out my brother died when he didn’t need to. So angry doesn’t even come close to the screaming and crying when I finally learned the truth.

My brother’s death

I was told he died of a pulmonary embolism. The definition by the Mayo Clinic is:

A pulmonary embolism is a blood clot that blocks and stops blood flow to an artery in the lung.

But he didn’t die of a pulmonary embolism, but a massive heart attack.

He had been complaining of pain in the left side of his back. My brother and his wife were hurrying to get from Indiana to Texas, and they didn’t want to stop to get care.

That care could have saved his life.

Their daughter had gone into labor with her first baby earlier than expected.

So, in a panic to get there, they hopped in the car and drove straight from Dallas, Texas.

Ultimately, it was the wrong decision not to stop and get help. My brother and his wife might have been late for the birth, but he would be alive today.

As it turned out, he never got to see the baby.

He died at 630 am. the following day. He was found unresponsive in bed. Paramedics tried to revive him, but it was too late. He died before they could transport him to the hospital.

If only they had stopped the night before, he might be alive today. My brother was only 68 years old. He had just retired after working for 50 years in a stressful job.

After a visit to my doctor, he encouraged me to request a copy of the autopsy report so we could determine his cause of death. My doctor wanted to learn his cause of death to test me for potentially the same illness. This event precipitated the request for that report two years after his death.

Heart Attack

To save the life of your loved ones, learn the signs of a heart attack.

According to the Mayo Clinic, “Heart attack signs and symptoms in men and women include chest pain or discomfort; Shortness of breath; Pain or discomfort in the jaw, neck, back, arm, or shoulder; Feeling nauseous, light-headed, or unusually tired.

Pain areas: in the area between shoulder blades, arm, chest, jaw, left arm, or upper abdomen

Pain types: can be burning in the chest or like a clenched fist in the chest

Pain circumstances: can occur during rest

Whole body: dizziness, fatigue, lightheadedness, clammy skin, cold sweat, or sweating

Gastrointestinal: indigestion, nausea, or vomiting

Neck: discomfort or tightness

Arm: discomfort or tightness

Also common: anxiety, chest pressure, feeling of impending doom, palpitations, shortness of breath, or shoulder discomfort.”

My brother drove 900 miles in one day to get to his daughter’s bedside while she was in labor, all the while experiencing back pain indicative of a heart attack.

Conclusion

If you have chest pains or back pain, please get help. Your life could depend on it.

If my brother were alive today, I would let him know how angry I am that he didn’t take care of himself.

His selfishness deprived the entire family of his presence in our lives. He is greatly missed.

Please learn from our tragedy and educate your loved ones before it’s too late.

“We understand death only after it has placed its hands on someone we love”

By Anne L de Stael

Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

--

--

Mary Acton
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Editor-in-Chief of Bouncing and Behavin Blogs, Yorkie lover with Hershey and Jazzies, Clinical Lab Tech, and houseplant addict. I write about my experiences