A WRITER RANTS

Iyere Perpetual
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min read2 days ago
Photo by Windows on Unsplash

Being a writer means being different things and being different people all at once. It’s quite tasking sometimes coupled with the fact that sometimes you have to put yourself in your reader’s shoes and other times, you have to do what you want.

It's wonderful too but it can also take a toll on you.

That toll it takes on you is the reason I'm writing this post. Sometimes, I'm tired but other times, I remember there are people that read what I write and even if I'm not paid for these occasional rants, I'm happy because it serves me two (2) purposes:

Therapy:-

I once wrote about my addiction, “hands on my navel”. Initially, I felt cringe about writing and publishing something like that but Randy Pulley and Amandraphilli were darlings. Mr. Randy gave me suggestions on how to get over it and try to do better. The good thing is that my hands are no longer on my navel but my tongue is still learning how to unlearn.

Secondly, I wrote “you are getting fat” and I didn’t think people would pay it much attention but it’s one of my stories with the highest claps, comments and engagements. But the thing some people may not realize was it was me ranting about my body’s changes. However, I liked the engagements and comments especially Willow Reed for being able to relate.

And there’s more like that if you look through my page, especially “bibidibabidiboo” where I wrote a poem from a mother’s perspective. Kimberly J. Fitzgerald was the first to comment on it and I was truly happy for the engagement.

This leads to my second point

Satisfaction:-

Truth be told, I have never been paid for writing on Medium neither am I on Medium Partner Program but I can tell you that my writing got recognized and I went to Abuja in March because I was shortlisted as a participant in a “Creative Writing Workshop held by NAL (Nigerian Academy of Letters)” and this means a lot to me.

I got the opportunity to meet other amazing Nigerian writers like Chukwuemaka Famous, author of “We will live again”, Deborah Uzoma, Jeff Iwu, Temiloluwa Fosudo (an actor who has starred in movies like Green Fever and The Griot, as well as a scriptwriter), Dr. Obari Gomba (Winner of NLNG prize with his book “Grit”) and many more. I was proud of myself.

I may not be a big star on Medium, but I have my crowd and I have made some friends here who I enjoy reading their works and I feel satisfied when they read and leave comments on my works. One of such people is Randy Pulley who found my writing engaging and he left comments on everything he read. Then, there’s Thief. Despite Thief’s large following and audience, he/she still engages my work and I am very grateful. There’s ChyAmakamike., my darling who never fails to leave hilarious comments. And there’s Abigail Oloda and the rest of you here in Medium and outside Medium that check out what I write and applaud me in the ways you can.

How can I forget the publications I publish with? @boncin’ and behavin' blogs and her sister publication, bouncin’and behavin' poems -they do a good job. Also, FictionShorts, I love what you do and @thelark publication, I really appreciate you for everything. There’s others but this is me just being thankful to you all.

These things you people do make me realize that my writing is still worth something. So thank you for being my audience and thank you for reading. I honestly appreciate everything.

--

--

Iyere Perpetual
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Poet, Freelancer, Efficient Orator, Content Writer and Storyteller