BEING ASSERTIVE

An Angry Mother Delivers a Scathing Response to School Officials

After her daughter was punished for punching a classmate

Malky McEwan
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
5 min readSep 6, 2023

--

And angry mother protects her child. It’s a modern parable. An updated fable. A rich, entertaining and engaging story. Everyone will walk away with the tools to be more assertive.
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

We love to root for the underdog.

David and Goliath. Oliver Twist. The Karate Kid.

Here is another story that got me where it matters.

(I’m an A&E nurse. We’re not allowed our phones on us; they’re to be kept in our lockers. A call for me comes into hospital reception on a private line.)

Phone: “This is [Teacher] from [School]. There’s been an incident involving [Daughter]. We need you to come in.”

Me: “Is she ill or injured? Can it wait until my shift is over in two hours?”

Phone: “[Daughter] has struck another pupil. We’ve been trying to call you for 45 minutes. It really is very serious.”

(I go to the school and am ushered into the head’s office. I see my daughter, her head of year, a male teacher, the headmaster, a boy with blood around his nose and a red face, and his parents.)

Head: “Mrs. [My Name], how kind of you to FINALLY join us!”

Me: “Yeah, things get busy in A&E. I’ve spent the last hour administering over 40 stitches to a seven-year-old who was beaten…

--

--