Being More Consistent Has Helped My Writing

One day at a time

Jameson
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readDec 25, 2022

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

As I continue down this humbling journey of being a writer, I can say wholeheartedly that I’ve held myself back. Whether that’s being too scared to share my craft or not taking constructive criticism, I haven’t been the best.

One thing I should have been doing is…well…writing more. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? It is, but many other writers I’ve met and I commit the same offense of not writing enough. If it’s so simple, why do we often neglect this part of our regimen?

I can’t speak for everyone, but for me, I’m not always in the mood to write. I’m either tired, too “busy,” or not inspired. All of these excuses are only kiddie-pool deep.

Identifying the problem

When I was a kid, I played a good deal of sports and video games. I used to become obsessed and play every day to improve. And what happened? After a consistent routine, I got better. That simple.

I was at odds with my writing for some time. As a new writer, I didn’t know my voice or what I wanted to write about. To top it off, I didn’t know how to get better.

My brain wasn’t turned on, right? How could I not apply the same concept from my sports days to the pen (or keyboard, I should say)?

Attacking the problem

After coming to terms with my writing, I created a plan. I would write at least five times a week and being that I was in a creative writing program, this should be easy, right? Wrong.

The inspiration didn’t flow to me. I have a head full of imagination, but nothing translated to paper. How did I climb this wall of adversity?

I forced myself to write. Even if it was just a page, it was something. I took writing prompts from various books and social media accounts and proceeded to my notebook.

Before I knew it, I saw improvements in my writing. My flow became smoother, my focus sharpened, and I ruthlessly cut the fluff from my stories. A smile tugged at the corners of my mouth. I had mostly solved my issues.

Learning from the problem

Who wakes up wanting to write each day? Not most writers I know, and not me. But if you neglect your craft, one missed day turns into a week and a few weeks into a month. That’s the problem with not staying on schedule. Your plan falls by the wayside.

The hardest part is to constantly show up. You can’t refine your craft without hundreds of repetitions. You’re not going to want to write some days, but you must pull through. You won’t see effects immediately, but you will down the road.

I’m not saying I’m a perfect writer or that I’m good by anyone’s standards. Still, I’m steadily improving, and I am proud of myself for that.

Grind it out and bet on yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

--

--

Jameson
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

A forever student of life. I write to share my experiences and passions with you.