This or That: New Year’s Challenge

A Brett Jenae Tomlin challenge (theanxiousenthusiast)

Mbhango Lefoka
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
4 min readJan 12, 2023

--

A brown board carries green leaves and white capitalised “Hapy New Year” text
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

This or That?

1. Resolutions or No Resolutions?
Resolutions. I chose this because my resolutions have no timeline. This year and the year before, the hype of “New Year Resolutions” didn’t get to me. Thanks to the SMART technique, I use it everywhere in anything I do.

2. Mountains or Ocean?
Ocean. It gives me peaceful solitude as I listen to the moving waves and enjoy nostalgia at the same time. My “me” time to be a kid again.

3. Fiction or Nonfiction?
Fiction. I’m into this because your imagination gets to run wild. You’re not restricted by rules. Creativity helps you break those rules. Creating endless worlds I’ve never been in is pure bliss to me.

4. Morning or Night?
Night. While everyone is snoring, I get to read novels in total silence. The great thing about this is that my attention span turns to God mode. Well, this usually makes me sleepless during the day.

5. Long or Short?
Long. I enjoy long storylines that take me all over the world, without leaving my couch. In this headspace, time becomes meaningless.

Photo by Laura Kapfer on Unsplash

6. Books or Audio Books?
Obviously, Books. Physical books keep me in touch with my love for vintage stuff. They make me feel like I had a past life. I always catch myself (even in public) finding pleasure in smelling coffee-colored pages. One of my illogical pleasures. 😄 Audiobooks are more of a now-and-then thing.

7. Coffee or Tea?
Both. Coffee for energy and tea for making me sleep after an hour of drinking it.

8. Reading or Writing?
Writing. In my make-believe sessions, I get to create worlds and situations I’ve never been in. This somehow made me realise my perspectives change in certain things. Sometimes living in imaginary realms feels better than writing about it. Usually, I write about my imaginations afterward.

9. Handwritten or Typed?
Handwritten. It is more of a feeling thing. Personally, handwritten words carry more emotional connections than typed ones. Through the unique handwritten words, you can feel the writer's uniqueness. The typed ones are limited.

10. Sweet or Sarcastic?
Sarcastic. Instead of complaining, my colleagues and I would make sarcastic jokes. This got us by the day.

Photo by Joe Deutscher on Unsplash

11. Salt or Pepper?
Pepper. You can use it in different types of food. Salt is so boring. It changes colour and tastes the same. With pepper, you don’t get that.

12. Laptop or Desktop?
Laptop. I can move with it anywhere I want. Moving a desktop anywhere feels like moving out.

13. Clap or Follow?
Both. You get to engage more deeply with your readers.

14. Funny or Serious?
Funny. Why not? We don’t have to pay to be funny. Being funny, which makes people laugh, is scientifically proven to lessen stress.

15. Hobby or Career?
Career. With this, you can hit two birds with one stone. Enjoy what you’re doing, get paid doing it, and keep growing. I cannot imagine anyone who doesn’t want this.

Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

16. Pen Name or No Pen Name?
No Pen Name. I never felt any need to hide my identity. I feel showing people who I am can create inspiration.

17. Winter or Summer?
Winter. My phone on vibrate, headphones playing lo-fi, and I get to play with my imagination. If not, then anime and snacks keep me busy.

18. Airplanes or Automobiles?
Airplanes. I’ve always craved freedom in every area of my life. Going anywhere at any time, without restrictions is kind of my dream life.

19. Tonic or Soda?
Soda. I don’t like complicating life. I better stick to what I know.

20. Sunrise or Sunset?
Sunset. I know nighttime is near, so that’s why I’m happy.

If you enjoyed this piece, follow me and subscribe to my newsletter for poems, short stories, challenges, and more, at no charge to you. You can also connect with me on other platforms.

Copyright © Mbhango Lefoka

--

--

Mbhango Lefoka
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

South African writer | Romance, Fiction, Challenges, Poems, Realism.