Dear Medium

An Open Letter to Medium & Medium Staff

JAH
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readMay 20, 2023

--

Screenshot by Author

Dear Medium,

I heard about you on YouTube and being a budding writer who needed an audience, I decided to give you a shot and here I am.

I have been here since March of this very year and here are:

THE THINGS I LOVE ABOUT YOU:

  1. User-Friendly Interface: The thing I like most about you is the user interface. Let’s be honest, even when dealing with people first impressions matter. Your simple yet clean and intuitive interface takes my breath away [I’m a poet, excuse my sick figures of speech]. One need not be a geek to find their way around you.
  2. Simple Publishing Process: The fact that I can just click on Write New Story, write or paste my work then hit publish, and voila my work is published is really a winner. Especially, when compared to you-know-who which demands that I reach a certain word count as if a poem can’t be a poem if it doesn’t reach 100, [I mean, haven’t these guys heard of a monostich?]. I love that about you, don’t you dare change that!

3. Engagement Features: The engagement features you offer especially those darn claps, though they’re often abused, are a good gesture. They facilitate discussions, feedback, and interaction between writers and their audience, creating a sense of community which is what a writer needs.

Having pampered you with praise, be prepared to swallow the bitter pill for these are

THINGS I THINK YOU NEED TO WORK ON:

  1. Joining and Creation of Publications: I understand you have to hide the content of paid members behind a paywall but what I don’t agree with is the fact that one cannot create a publication because they’re not yet a paying member. Why is it that every time I click on the Create Publication I’m met with this:
Screenshot by Author

2. Earnings From Reads from External Sources: I understand why you consider reads from paying Medium members only when it comes to earnings for authors. But how do you explain this?

Screenshot by Author

I mean just look at that graph!

Screenshot by Author

Now look at the source of the traffic:

Screenshot by Author

My point is, can’t you figure out a way to make authors gain something from external reads? After all, these external reads are bringing you potential customers most of which won’t sign up for Medium membership using the author’s referral link. Seriously, give this a thought.

I have many a bone to pick with you but for now, let’s pick these ones.

Yours,

JAH

--

--