Dear Mortgage Company

Beth Turnage
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readNov 28, 2023

--

When your cat is more intelligent than a multi-million-dollar banking organization

Blank check saying “pay to the order” with pen point poised over it
In an abundance of caution, I’m not naming the company or showing my documents. Photo by Deposit Photos.

Dear Mortgage Company,

I’m a big enough person to admit an error. So, when you presented me with a one-time $200 fee that resulted from my error, I paid it.

Life happens. There is no sense in beating myself up over it.

However, you do not feel the same way.

You keep charging me that one-time $200 fee every month since the original charge in March 2023. I just received my December mortgage bill. The fee still sits on that bill and is listed as “unpaid fees” ten months after I paid it.

I have proof that I paid that fee and sent that proof to you twice. Both times, in response, you told me your records were not wrong, and you weren’t correcting anything despite the photocopy of the check I enclosed to substantiate my claim.

Listen, I’ve had cats smarter than you. Those cats opened doors.

You, apparently, can’t open your books to verify the photocopied evidence before your eyes.

Despite my being your customer for lo, many years, you do not know me. Or my family.

Let me tell you the story of the cuckoo clock.

--

--

Beth Turnage
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Born in a time less progressive than my brain is wired, I engage in several questionable activities to earn my bread, ghostwriting and developmental editing.