VERSE

Dessert to Share

Natasha MH
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
5 min readDec 15, 2022

--

Mmhmm. Photo by Cristina Matos-Albers on Unsplash

Tearing Me Up by Bob Moses

“Let me tell you about a little situation
It’s been testin’ my patience
Man, she was keepin’ me up all night
’Cause you only get so far readin’ faces
We were off to the races
And I thought to myself, hold tight”

She walked in and he saw her.
The event hall was crowded.
A hundred over women yet she stood out and he liked it.
There was something about her.

They passed each other and exchanged glances.
He liked her even more.
As she was walking away he noticed something.
Her back revealed a lace halter peeping from her black power dress.
He knew then, he had to have her.

“You see there was just this one complication
She was already taken
And what was so wrong felt so right
She said no need to be lookin’ over your shoulder
When you could just come over
And we could work this out just fine”

She stood by the buffet counter, black heels and a zipped-up dress
A top-level executive meant she was out of his league.
And that made her more intriguing.
The worst she could do was shoot a silver bullet through his heart.

She was deliberating at the dessert counter.
Between chocolate and vanilla.
“Always go for the vanilla” he suggested to her.

She smiled with a direct gaze into his eyes.
He saw that behind the wide glasses was a pair of eyes
he would like to see in a different room, under a different light,
in a different position.

“Chocolate” she replied. “I always prefer chocolate.”

“I don’t know what you want from me
So careless in my company
Oh, if all that you say is true
There’ll be no gettin’ over you
Slow me down playin’ by your rules
If you’re a joker then I’m the fool
I guess there’s no catchin’ up to you”

The room was crowded yet all he saw was her holding the plate of chocolate dessert.
She was interrupted by his boss and she left without her cake.

Later he saw her sitting alone holding her drink.
She was watching the presentation his team had prepared.
“May I?” He asked knowing the answer will be favorable.
“By all means,” she replied with a different smile than before,
only to hook him by the heart.

“I brought you an offering of chocolate cake,” he asked brazenly
like he had known her and all that she likes, forever.
“But, if I may, could I suggest we share this piece?” He gambled his luck.
If it failed, it only meant a second silver bullet to the heart.
“Do you always share dessert with strangers?” She asked with a knowing smile.
“This is my first time.” And he was not lying.
Something had possessed him this afternoon after seeing her and the halter lace.
“I guess I would accept.” She replied.
“Do you always agree to share your dessert with a stranger?” He asked her back.
“This is my first time.” And she wasn’t lying.

“If you don’t want my affection
Don’t lie, you’re tearin’ me up
’Cause you’ve got all my attention
I won’t lie, you’re tearin’ me up
And I’m tryin’ to tell your intention
When you lie, you’re tearin’ me up
If you don’t want my affection
You won’t mind tearin’ me up”

Three months later they met on a train.
He was heading North of the city, she was heading South.
With only one station in common, they agreed to have coffee there.
You’re not wearing a halter today, he openly admitted.
“Are you always this observant?” She asked, impressed that he noticed her sly collection.
“Only those with good taste.” Came his evenly sly reply.
“That would be me and my dark chocolates.” She smiled, biting her lips.

“It all started with a simple conversation
It was all in the makin’, man
She was talkin’ me up all night
Kept askin’ if I was only fakin’
She was there for takin’
Showin’ me that she was all mine
She told me she lived just around the corner
I wanted to know her
Yeah, she was makin’ me lose my mind
I didn’t know quite what I was chasin’
She had my heart racin’
And all it took was just one night”

Coffee always tastes better in bed when he grinds the beans naked in front of her.
Chocolate when she places it in between his lips.
Crunchy buttered croissants when he bites into one
and like a puppy with a toy brings it to her to bite the other end.

“If you don’t want my affection
Don’t lie, you’re tearin’ me up
’Cause you’ve got all my attention
I won’t lie, you’re tearin’ me up
And I’m tryin’ to tell your intention
When you lie, you’re tearin’ me up
If you don’t want my affection
You won’t mind tearin’ me up”

He could never take his eyes off her.
He’d be on a conference call and admire her gait
as she walks past in front of him naked.
He loves that she’d stop and plant him a kiss.
Sometimes the kiss contains a piece of dark chocolate
she’d teasingly slip into his mouth.

She was the boss of his heart.
He’d take a full round of silver bullets
just to see the look she gives him while he was in a virtual meeting.

Of all the men in the crowded hall four years ago
it was him she took a bite with,
a sharing of the chocolate cake.
It was him. He couldn’t believe his luck.

Why me? He asked her later as he kissed her
longingly in the warm bubble bath, her favorite weekly affair.
“Because you brought me dessert to share,” she replied, kissing him lovingly back.
“And you brought me chocolate.”

He felt like a king, like he had won a lottery.
For the first time in his often discriminated life, he was grateful for the dark skin he had.

She could shoot him with silver bullets and he would still survive, for her.

--

--