Did I Really Break Up With a Girlfriend Because She Didn’t Like ‘A Christmas Story?’

Relationships are frajeelay

B. C. Heneghan
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Image: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer/Christmas Tree Films. Artist: Robert Tanenbaum.

Ah, the eternal question.

Well, it’s certainly a question.

Specifically, it’s a question from people that have known me since I was in my twenties. Wow — hard to believe that was 30 years ago. But that’s another article….

Let’s set the stage, shall we?

I was around 25 years old at the time. I had been dating a young woman for four or five months. It was likely the most serious I had been about dating someone up to that time in my life. I will not name her. She’ll just be “The Girlfriend.”

The holidays were coming, and we were sitting on my couch talking about Christmas movies we liked to watch every year. It was an interesting conversation. I like hearing about the movies people make a point to watch from Halloween through the holidays.

But then she killed the moment, like the Bumpus’ smelly dogs stealing the turkey.*

“I hate A Christmas Story.

I turned and looked at her with a mix of surprise and horror. “Excuse me?” I said, trying to remain calm.

She crossed her arms, frowning. “It’s stupid. He wants a stupid BB gun? And that…

--

--

B. C. Heneghan
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelancer writing about many topics. Reader, movie lover, and gamer. World’s okayest guitar player. Should have been a chef. Top writer in movies.