Donald Trump To Be Arrested Tuesday

At least that’s what he said on Truth Social

AAAMCWB
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
4 min readMar 19, 2023

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

If Donald Trump posts something on social media, you know it’s true.

I’ll be honest. I never thought in a million years I would type those words. I never the twice-impeached, one-term, eternal POS, former POTUS would ever post anything I wanted to come true. But as they say, never say never.

Yes, I want Donald Trump to be indicted. I want him indicted for paying hush money to Stormy Daniels. I want him indicted for election interference for his telephone call to Brad Raffensperger. I want him indicted for inciting a riot on January 6.

I want him indicted for taking and refusing to turn over classified documents. I want Donald Trump indicted. I want him to stand trial for each of those crimes. I want him to be convicted and sentenced repeatedly. I want Donald Trump locked up and traded nightly for a pack of menthols by men named Bubba for the rest of his natural life.

OK. I have that out of my system and feel much better now.

So, about that post. First of all, there is zero evidence Trump will be indicted Tuesday. While it may happen, nobody has evidence Trump’s claim is based on fact. Of course, facts have never mattered much to Trump.

Trump’s post on Truth Social wasn’t made to call out the possibility of an illegal leak. There is no evidence such a leak even occurred.

The purpose of Trump’s post is clear. “Protest. Take our nation back,” which was followed by another post, “Protest! Protest! Protest!” Trump’s post is a thinly veiled call to violence. Trump proved he doesn’t believe in peaceful protests long ago. His call to “Protest, Take our nation back,” are reminiscent of his calls to “fight like hell” on January 6.

Trump wants to create chaos. He wants widespread violence in the event an indictment comes. He relishes the thought of being able to point to any damage and blame the D.A. for causing it through rogue, politically motivated actions.

In a country where 1/3 of the population believes political violence is justified, Trump’s post was meant to speak to the Ricky Shiffer element of his supporters. Trump doesn’t care what damage is done. Trump does not care who gets hurt. Trump cares about Donald Trump, and his own power and control, at any cost.

While Trump’s post was a call to violence, I believe that call was secondary to its primary purpose. Trump’s hold in the Republican party has been waning in recent months. Results of the mid-term elections, early Presidential primary polls, and the recent CPAC convention all point to Trump’s reduced standing in the party.

Make no mistake, Trump does indeed hope for violence if he is indicted; his primary purpose, though, was to demonstrate the degree to which he still controls prominent Republicans. In that regard, his post was successful.

Marjorie Taylor Green, who appears to be positioning herself to be Trump’s choice for a running mate, followed Trump's post with her own. “This is exactly why every Republican should go scorched Earth.”

Speaker of the House, Kevin McCarthy posted, “Here we go again…an outrageous abuse of power by a radical DA who lets violent criminal walk as he pursues political vengeance against President Trump.” McCarthy continued by threatening a federal investigation of the Manhattan D.A. if Trump is indicted.

Several other Republican elected officials, including Jim Jordan, Elise Stefanik, and Matt Gaetz followed suit. When faced with endorsing a call to violence or endorsing the rule of law, leaders of the Republican party supported the call to violence.

Even former Vice-President Pence, who knows full well the violence of which Trump supporters are capable was quick to defend the former President. “It just feels like a politically charged prosecution here. For my part, I just feel like it’s not what the American people want to see.”

Whether or not the American people want to see something isn’t the point. The rule of law is not a public opinion poll. The law is the law; a violation of that law is a violation.

Trump’s post was a call to violence; it was an attempt to exert control over leaders in the Republican party. Above all though, Trump’s post was an attempt to subvert the rule of law. In that regard, it’s a call that must remain unanswered.

--

--

AAAMCWB
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

An average, all-American, middle-class, white boy. Who I am is secondary to how I make you feel. How I make you feel is the reason I write.