Don’t Expect to Lose Weight Fast! It Took You a While to Gain It

You cannot take a magic wand and wave it on you, expecting the extra weight to fall off

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
7 min readMay 15, 2024

--

A dumbbell set with a mat on the floor. Photo by Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

I have yo-yo dieted for decades, since I was 15 because I was always self-conscious about my weight.

Of course, others gave me a hard time about it. My weight was one of the issues I had that bullies picked on, so that only added to my insecurity about my weight. Little did I know when I was a teen was that I had PCOS, which also did not help.

Of course, I fell into extreme people-pleasing at that time because I was desperate for others to accept me, which caused me to neglect my needs. Therefore, I fell into emotional eating.

Food was the thing, so I believed that would fill my void and meet my needs. I would wait for everyone in the house to be asleep, so if I could not sleep, I would be up at 2 a.m. to eat cookies, cheese, and crackers.

I would also take bread and eat it in my room. I looked forward to when I could fill my void with food those days.

Then, it never failed. Over time, I would find my clothes tight, and others would love to point out that I had gained weight. Then, the diets began.

--

--

Miriam Rachel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance Writer, Blogger, Virtual Assistant, Tarot Reader, and Mental Health Advocate. Owner of Tarot Talk pub among 2 others! https://beacons.ai/miriamrachel