Dumb and Cringe Anime Are Ironically the Best Ones

Sometimes you just gotta turn your brain off.

Sohaib Waheed
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readDec 3, 2023

--

Anime will always have a special place in my heart. When I got into anime (in my early teens), I always thought that this medium would be a niche thing, as some elements of anime seemed a bit cringeworthy or weird.

via Pinterest

Flash-forward to 2023, and anime is bigger than ever. Having taken over the whole world, anime has become something inescapeable if you are on the internet. Amazing anime shows are published every season, which entertain the souls of many.

However, I do see many people, including some of my friends, only enjoying popular shows like One Piece, Jujutsu Kaisen, and Attack on Titan, while their is nothing wrong with enjoying popular shows that have a good story with iconic characters, I would say that they are missing out on some of the best anime shows out there — the Cringe ones.

Almost all anime have their weird tropes; from overtly sexual fanservices and nosebleeds to just weird shit in general, there is something that reminds us that what we are watching is an anime. Popular shows often tone down these tropes so that they can appeal more to the masses.

I admit that when I got into anime, I used to hate these tropes as they made me anxious about suggesting certain anime series to my friends, but as I have gotten older, I have learned to enjoy these little weird and cringe tropes as these are the things that made anime so unique and special in my heart.

Watching dumb anime shows made me truly appreciate the medium. Everyone wants to watch what is the most popular and most trendy thing right now but that isn’t the case with anime. Sure popular shows are great in many aspects, including plot, story-telling, character building, consistency, etc. However, if you don’t watch the bad stuff, then you can't really appreciate the good stuff.

When I got done watching all the popular and trendy shows, I realized that there wasn’t much left for me in the anime medium, so for a long time I didn't watch a lot of anime. However, expanding my taste by exploring other anime genres reignited my love for anime. These cringe-worthy anime shows made me remember why I started loving anime in the first place.

If you wanna get into some dumb/cringe anime shows, here are a few recommendations:

  1. Azumanga Daioh: It’s just a bunch of high-school girls living their goofy lives.
  2. Fairytail: Not only is it filled with nosebleeds and tons of dumb fanservice but it is a great shounen anime
  3. Domestic Girlfriend: It’s about a dude who is madly in love with his teacher, who turns out to be his stepsister. Also, a girl he hooked up with is also his stepsister now?
  4. Watamote: Watamote revolves around a cringe-worthy teenage girl who can’t make friends. Sounds entertaining.
  5. Trinity Seven: About a group of boys who encounter supernatural events, and by the way, it’s also filled with weird fanservice.

Whether or not you think these type of shows are your cup of tea I urge you to give one or two of these shows a try and see where that takes you.

--

--