Fatherless Sons and Daughters

And the emptiness we try to fill with “stuff”

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Federico Enni on Unsplash

I believe that I have to have items to be worthy of attention and compliments, or worth.

Without “items” I feel empty.

If I walk into a room and don’t have what others do I feel lacking, I feel less than.

My self-worth is low, I lack confidence and need items to prove I am worthy. You probably wouldn’t guess it by looking at me. I work hard to make my outsides look like yours. You wouldn’t be able to guess where I’ve come from or what I hold inside.

What is feeling worthy? Worthy of what? Living? Laughing? Happiness?

Someone, (myself) is always trying to shove me down.

Shoes, clothes, jackets. I need them all. If I get the item, I still want more. It is my identity.

Sometimes I just like to check out.

I get annoyed when people need things from me.

I want to just check out to be alone. I feel overwhelmed by others, noise, demands, messes, work, and commitments.

I get stressed out and feel squirrely, antsy, frustrated, or annoyed.

I see others feeling free and wonder how others can feel so free, not tied down by fears, insecurities, and this…

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....