Kickass Actions that could make you Wealthy & Happy

Five Non-Negotiable Habits That Make You A Wealthy Entrepreneur

Number 5 Is What Most People Don’t Do To Gain An Edge

Zarine Swamy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Pixabay: https://www.pexels.com/photo/grayscale-photo-of-chair-inside-the-establishment-162389/

Old habits die hard.

I have a weird habit. I tend to wash my feet every single time I visit the loo 😉 My spouse hates it. He complains it makes the bathroom floor wet (which it does). I am not able to give up my habit, annoying though it is.

This is why people find it difficult to change, though change may be good for them. They are wedded unhappily to their habits.

You absorbed your habits growing up. And just like everything else in life, your habits impact your ability to earn. They may not even seem like habits that impact your income. But they are.

So if you want to become an entrepreneur & a wealthy one at that, you will need to adopt 5 non-negotiable habits.

1. Don’t be a guilt-free flirt with time

Humans are social. But our tendency to help is counter-productive when others’ priorities fill our calendar. I’ve been there. My friend’s loneliness, my mother’s internet troubles, my spouse’s career, the neighbours' nosiness & the dog’s exercise jostled for space on my priority list. My own life did not figure in my list of the important big stuff.

When I consciously changed these habits I attracted opportunities.

Successful people know that they need to shave off their to-do list.

If you are an entrepreneur, value your time. Prune down priorities till your life is ruled by no more than three. Also, if your business doesn’t rank at least second on your priority list it will fail.

Pro tip: how do you declare your priorities to the World without sounding rude? You can indicate a window when they can talk to you. My time to the World on weekdays is 7–10 pm.

2. Master the lucrative habit of pissing people off

Have you been repeatedly brainwashed with the glories of teamwork? Think about this- It may get average shit done in a job but what does it do for your business? Worse- you believe helping others is your route to winning friends & influencing people. You’ve been using Dale Carnegie as your Bible haven’t you?

If you wanna swim to the shore as an entrepreneur, you need to ditch your helpful tendencies.

Helping others is awesome. It takes a big heart to give. But it could be disastrous for you if:

  1. You help when there is no real need
  2. You help with the expectation of getting something in return

My rule of thumb for help seekers is- can they do it by themselves? If they can, they just wanna ride my back to avoid moving their lazy arses.

Stick to your priorities like your life depends on them.

Trade being Ms. / Mr. nice for your time. Piss a few people off. Say NO more often & without regret.

3. Ditch wanton ways to covet the routine

Routines form habits.

Here’s the dope on why most good routines fail. We treat routines like jailers. We secretly hope to be released from their prison someday.

After years of failing like everyone else, I managed to establish a successful routine. I did it by introducing some wanton-ness in between. Meaning this. I stick to a schedule Monday- Thursday like my life depends on it. Fridays & weekends I ditch the routine. I keep my work schedule random. I master the art of wanton-ness on weekends.

Vary the routine & there are more chances you will stick to it.

4. Hold your mighty planner as if your life depends on it

Plan & plan some more. Plan for the week looming ahead. Micro plan for the next day, a day prior. Micro planning is the key, tedious though it sounds. You can use technology to help you, though I don’t do much of that as of now. You can automate tasks like your social media posts. Basic software can schedule emails & tweets. Just a word of caution- don’t overspend on automation software.

5. The art of doing nothing

Wise people have embraced this art after knowing this secret. A human can productively work for only 5 hours a day. Which means we are all essentially overworked. We need holidays.

Are you afraid to set work aside & take a break?

If so, there is an art to taking holidays that will serve you well. Plan them in advance. Announce your holiday to your network. Mention a do not disturb policy. Once you return, steal a day more to settle down.

When you master these new & better habits for long enough you get into the flow state. You attract the right kind of opportunities. Get shit done. You create magic. The Universe works for you Badass!

--

--

Zarine Swamy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Freelance writer for life coaches, authors & mental health experts who writes about the human journey. My freelance writing website: https://ethicalbadass.com/