From Plate to Page: Documenting My Daily Eats

To ensure optimal results from your food diary, it is critical to be precise and detailed.

Lorna Harvey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Image by the author via Canva

Many years ago, I started keeping a daily food diary. I did it mainly to track my eating when I first started trying to lose weight. I also tracked my water intake, exercise, weight, and any medication or supplements I was taking.

I also wrote about how I was feeling physically and mentally in the food diary. I can now look back over many years and see not only what I ate but also how I was feeling and see my successes and failures.

Keeping a diary that records everything you eat daily may initially sound exhausting. If you’re trying to reduce your calorie consumption or start an exercise program, recording might help you stay focused.

In fact, tracking your food intake might positively impact your life.

Keeping a food diary is a wonderful mindfulness practice. It teaches you to pay more attention to what you eat, how you feel while eating, and even why you choose specific meals. You may eventually discover more about what triggers your poor food experiences.

Food diaries can also help your doctor better understand your eating patterns, which is especially important if you have a medical condition such as diabetes.

What Can You

--

--

Lorna Harvey
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I’m a blogger, writer, and interested in helping people find answers for living their best life. I also write on https://www.createthebestlife.com/.