From Shrieking Bark to Mindful Moment: Learning to Love My Neighbor’s Dog

How to unleash the power of mindfulness in everyday challenges

Roshana Ariel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

A black-and-golden-brown dog is barking in her fenced yard.
AI image created using prompts by the author on Midjourney.

Howwwwoooooo-ooo-ooo-ooo!

Ah, my alarm clock. 6 a.m. … again.

The little fluff-muffin catty-corner from us is awake, so the neighborhood is notified that our doggy deputy is on duty. And there’s danger afoot.

Howwwwwoooooo-ooo-ooo-ooo!

So much danger! And here I thought this was a nice, peaceful community.

Before that adorable little black-and-brown shaggy mutt moved in, we thought all was well. But her piercing, screeching howl alerts us daily to the dangers that surround us.

Shagglepaws wakes me up in the morning and barks throughout the day, thinking she’s saving the district from the horrors of (yikes!) people walking their (oh-my-gawd!) dogs a block away. Distance doesn’t seem to matter. Any movement anywhere within eyesight she sees as threatening. And from her perch on the upper deck of the house, Scruffzilla can see quite a distance.

I’m not gonna lie, that screechy howl has been driving me crazy. How can the dog’s owners not do anything about it? It’s so inconsiderate! It’s so rude! It’s against the rules!

--

--

Roshana Ariel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I write about how to live life well even when it’s crazy or difficult. I’ve had lots of practice! As an editor, I love to rewrite my life to make it beautiful.