Funerals: The End of the Trail

How funerals have changed over the years

John Egelkrout
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Picture of a cemetery
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

“You should always go to other people’s funerals; otherwise, they won’t come to yours.” — Yogi Berra

Every culture and every era has had different ways to recognize, honor, commemorate, or mourn the death of people. In ancient times, people of prominence were placed in tombs. Egyptians build pyramids and mummified the dead. Some indigenous peoples of the western hemisphere burned bodies on funeral pyres while others buried their dead in mounds. Going back even further, there is much evidence that even Neanderthals buried their dead.

No other living thing on the planet buries its dead. I always found it interesting that humans do.

The first funeral I ever attended was for my grandpa, my mom’s dad. I was only five years old when he died. I only have vague recollections of that event, but I do remember looking up at the casket and seeing him inside. That was the first time I ever saw a dead body. I remember thinking he didn’t look like I remembered, and it left me with a creepy feeling. I don’t remember if anyone held me up so I could get a better look. I hope not.

During my six long years at a Catholic elementary school, we sang at more funerals than I want to remember. During this same time, I was an altar boy, so if a…

--

--

John Egelkrout
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I am a sanity-curious former teacher who writes about politics, social issues, memoirs, and a variety of other topics.