Grandma Goes Viral With Her Olive Garden Review

gothbarbi
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readNov 11, 2022

--

The power of Chicken Alfredo and breadsticks

Photo by Alex Motoc on Unsplash

Marilyn. Sweet Marilyn. She is the star of this story.

Marilyn is the type of Grandma who is everyone’s Grandma. She possesses a warmth and charisma that can only be cultivated with a long life lived and wisdom gained. I nominate myself to be her grandchild.

This story takes place in 2012 in Grand Forks, ND where Marilyn was an 85-year-old columnist who wrote for the Grand Forks newspaper. (She’s a writer, like us!)

Her column about the Olive Garden would not be her first food review. She actually wrote a lot of restaurant chain reviews including Subway, McDonald's, and Taco Bell. And yes, they all scored raving reviews.

Here are some snippets from her acclaimed Olive Garden review. I’ll post the full link so you can read it in its entirety.

My first visit to Olive Garden was during the midafternoon, so I could be sure to get in. After a late breakfast, I figured a late lunch would be fashionable.

The place is impressive. It’s fashioned in Tuscan farmhouse style with a welcoming entryway. There is seating for those who are waiting.

At length, I asked my server what she would recommend. She suggested chicken Alfredo, and I went with that

--

--

gothbarbi
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Check out my drumming and other musical pursuits: Instagram: gothbarbimusic TikTok: gothbarbimusic YouTube: gothbarbi