How Does Currency Affect Our Life?

Justine Jacob
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
2 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

“Everyone wants to own more.”

Currency is a medium of exchange for goods and services. In short, it is money in the form of paper or coins, usually issued by a government and generally accepted at its face value as a method of payment.

My Experiences with Money

Everyone is fascinated to own a lot of currency. I remember when my dad brought a bag full of cash to our home after the sale of a plot of land owned by us. This happened around 35 years ago. I was thrilled to see it. I asked my dad if I can touch the currency worth more than 10 lakhs of Indian rupees.

Most of the time until a few years ago, I carried more than 10 currency notes in my wallet. I used to tell my friends that having money in my pocket gives me more self-confidence.

The Psychology of Money

But now things are different. Most of the time we use plastic money. But you know credit cards are a dangerous item in our wallets unless we use them judiciously.

There is excitement for almost anyone to see a lot of paper currency piled up in a cupboard or a suitcase. Popular movie stars are often portrayed carrying tons of currency with them and bodyguards guarding them. The common man watching the movie replaces himself in the place of the hero and satiates his pseudo-self.

A Simple Principle of Philanthropy

Most philanthropists keep a record of the people helped by them. This will give an elevated good feeling to them. But I advise everyone not to keep a journal of the people they helped during these years. This way we can remain detached from money and things.

--

--

Justine Jacob
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

After reading my thoughts on life you will be encouraged to come out of difficult situations in life. Lonely people will find meaning in their life.