How Forcing Myself to Write Every Day Makes Me Write Less

The dead cycle of writing

God'sgift Oghale Amos
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
3 min readJun 11, 2024

--

When writing feels like a job you tend to write less
Image by author

The pressure of writing every single day can be more overwhelming than you are aware of. Believe me, when it comes to writing, the popular trade-off is writing every day, consistently, to become a better writer (from the very beginning, I started writing, and I didn't believe in that). This has been my thinking for a while now, but it isn't going well with me. Like I usually ask myself, "Why should I do that?" Well, I know discipline is doing something when you don't feel like doing it to become a master, but I don't feel that way when it comes to writing because writing comes naturally to me, and whenever I force myself to do it, I struggle to form words and sentences. My style, tone, and voice change and look dry.

That cycle of me seeing myself sitting down to write whatever, even if I don't feel like it, to pen my miserable thoughts down to my readers, audience, followers, and whoever cares to read what I write, is what I don't feel good about. I have been writing for as long as I can remember, but writing every single day is not my thing. Whenever I force or persuade myself to sit down and write, all I can do is stare at the blank wall or the opened window facing the sky until I can remember nothing more, and even if I still try, I write less, maybe a few lines or a page if I'm lucky.

So, I have concluded that writing every single day or forcing myself to produce content is not my thing. I only do it when I feel like it or when I'm inspired to write. However, I draft every day! I don't just write or put my thoughts down only when I feel motivated; that's not me. It's only when the inspiration naturally comes in. During those times, finding words or putting words together is easier than I usually feel. It just pours out and keeps coming out until I can take it no more. Like, what is going on in my head and mind?

I respect all those experts and gurus who take pride in themselves not running out of content every day. Writing every day as a career or part-time business, I don't know how they do it, but I applaud them! If you're one, tell us how you do it every day. It may be helpful to some other people and me. You know it can be hard to boast about something you're not, so I won't! So, if you're like me, who sometimes believes writing every day improves you, surely you should know it only kills you. But don't take my advice (words) seriously; it's just my own thoughts and way. You know, taking one man's opinion on certain things can be extreme and not statistically or logically right. Happy writing!

--

--

God'sgift Oghale Amos
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I am a simple "Parent Expert Doctor"...to me is all about Parenting+Family+Life+Tech+Children+Philosophy+Entrepreneur(ship)....+God!